Running your own fiber?

I am by no means an expert when it comes down to networking, hence the reason why I'm asking this.

My question is: How would a provider (let's take HE.net as an example this time around), run fiber to a peering point such as PAIX or MAE-West (shown here) from their data center? How does this process work? Would HE.net have to manually dig up the ground so they can lay the fiber, or do they lease existing fibers?

How much would it cost these days to run your own fiber to a peering point, datacenter, etc...?

This concept has always boggled my mind, as I'm not quite sure how it works.

Don't worry, I'm not interested in starting up my own datacenter, (just in case soemone asks )

Any help/comments would be appreciated!

I believe they would lease existing connections. I don't remember the exact terminology, but I believe its called brown and black fibers, am I correct?
    Domain Software, LLC.

sounds correct...but i'm not sure

Good idea would be to own a railroad company... then lay fibre illegal under people's property... wait, someone already did that! Doh.

Dark fiber is normally the term.
    Jason

It's very costly to lay fiber so some companies bury extra fiber when they lay their own fiber and lease some of their 'extra' dark fiber out to other companies. They usually burying them in multiple ducts and sometimes in multiple trenches for redundancy if they can afford it. The company using the fiber then attaches their equipment on the ends of the fiber or lease the equipment to specs depending on how much bandwidth they want.

yeah.. more than likely they'd use some of the dark fiber. I don't think you have to pay people to lie fiber through there property as long as you stick close to the road using the utility easement. Isn't HE's facility actually in MAE West though..??
    neil MCITP, VCP

Originally posted by neil