Hi all,

Please excuse this rather discursive post but I am hoping to explain some background to aid anyone able to reply to make a useful one and to demonstrate the sincerity of my (somewhat naive I'm sure) current position and desire to make the right decisions at this critical juncture.

I have been building a web based services business for many years now in parallel with my full time "real job", family and all that happens in life that leaves you wondering what happened to it

It has been based initially on a small number of niche community forums some of which have grown from phpBBs to vBs due to the time that modding them admining them, selling advertising for them and so on. Basically I love building the infrastructure and am happy when I am at the command line on my gentoo boxes doing the hands on management of the server and its services. I have run gentoo on lots of things for many years now and am moving to Debian stable at this point in time for the same reason I went from phpBB to vB - I need more time to build the business on a stable less "hands on" system. Gentoo has never failed me (and nor did phpBB but with the modifications I had on my boards as security upgrades and so forth came out I was spending too much time hacking the source; similarly with Gentoo).

The process has been a familiar one:
1) a $99/yr shared hosting for two years back at the beginning of the decade...
2) move to a dedicated server unmanaged server (Debian Stable) with Layered Tech for three-four years
3) moved to an onshore co-lo with my own HP ProLiant last three years
4) bought a new ProLiant to put into another data centre as next step in building the business on personalised service, word of mouth, competitive but not cheap solutions that I want to run in a more efficient way.

Thats for the background;