Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34

    Pointing cname to cdn with WHM

    I'm wondering if I got this right. I want to have my subdomain point to the cdn. I created a fresh subdomain in WHM cdn.mydomain.com and proceeded to edit the dns zone. I saw two drop down menus that were cname by default (www and mail). I wasn't sure if I was supposed to edit those or create a new entry. Well I didn't touch them, but I added a new entry:
    cdn.mydomain.com 14400 IN CNAME xxx.cdndomain.com.

    My subdomain is still working fine, so I'm not sure if it's propagating. Did I miss anything?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    63
    if you want to point cdn.mydomain.com to some server, then you need to change it's DNS record to something like this:
    cdn 14400 IN A <IP address of the server>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Billingchamp View Post
    if you want to point cdn.mydomain.com to some server, then you need to change it's DNS record to something like this:
    cdn 14400 IN A <IP address of the server>
    How come I would use "A" instead of "CNAME"? Since that's what it told me use. I also wasn't supplied an IP address, but a subdomain address instead.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    63
    did you tried to use
    cdn 14400 IN CNAME xxx.cdndomain.com.
    instead of
    cdn.mydomain.com 14400 IN CNAME xxx.cdndomain.com.

    while editing the DNS zone for mydomain.com?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34
    I was going to try that next, but because it takes time to propagate I didn't want to change it without knowing if I'm actually right or wrong. Or should it be instant?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    616
    It will take a short while to propagate.

    Billingchamp is also correct in that the format would be:

    cdn 14400 IN CNAME xxx.cdndomain.com.
    BGP GRID
    UNetLab Network Simulator Hosting
    Prepare for your CCNA/CCNP/CCIE certifications today!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Salsero View Post
    It will take a short while to propagate.

    Billingchamp is also correct in that the format would be:

    cdn 14400 IN CNAME xxx.cdndomain.com.
    Ok tried that now, I just removed my domain and just included the subdomain address instead. Is there a way to check if you've done things correctly? I've googled that you can use nslookup, but I tried nslookup cdn.mydomain.com before and after the change, but there wasn't any difference. I guess I'll just have to wait another 2 days...

    edit:
    I just noticed Billingchamp said, "while editing the DNS zone for mydomain.com?"

    Oops, I've been editing the DNS zone for cdn.mydomain.com, I guess that is where I messed up? So should I be adding a new entry to mydomain.com DNS zone instead or is it the same thing?
    Last edited by ronel; 09-02-2009 at 04:30 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    616
    If you've done things correctly, when you do a ping test to cdn.mydomain.com, you should get a response back from the new xxx.cdndomain.com.
    BGP GRID
    UNetLab Network Simulator Hosting
    Prepare for your CCNA/CCNP/CCIE certifications today!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34
    I just get back the IP address of my own domain. But when I try pinging other sites' subdomain they also return their site IP address and not the subdomain of their cdn.

    But I just noticed Billingchamp said, "while editing the DNS zone for mydomain.com?"

    Oops, I've been editing the DNS zone for cdn.mydomain.com, I guess that is where I messed up? So should I be adding a new entry to mydomain.com DNS zone instead or is it the same thing?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    34
    Been about two days and nothing happened. Should I try to add the DNS record directly to the domain instead of the subdomain?

Similar Threads

  1. CNAME & SSL
    By LukeSc in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 10:23 PM
  2. cname help
    By fredie108 in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 06:29 PM
  3. How to add a CNAme
    By bisdak in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 03:16 AM
  4. Cname
    By Ben Russell in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 12:33 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2001, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •