Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 45
  1. #1

    I do not use Opera or anything else other than Firefox.

    Opera has tool bars but no third party tool bars or ad dons that are not widgets. I would like to see the netcraft toolbar, yahoo toolbar, Google toolbar, conduit toolbar and many more.

    I use Internet Explorer more than Opera and Firefox more than both. Firefox has third party tool bars and thirty party ad dons. Opera just has widgets that go on your browser made by Opera or a third party. I do not like that period.

    I do not trust Internet Explorer and I will never trust Internet Explorer.

    I love having ad dons but I do not want them obstruct the browser. Tool bars and ad dons on the bottom or top of the browser may obstruct it but at least I do not have to drag it or turn it off when I view my browser. I can just go into the menu and shut it off. You can turn off widgets where they do no show but I just do not like it all.

    I just think that the browser does not look as good and looks boring without those things.

    I know its a browser but I think it should be more than that.

    I do not use Chrome, Safari, and other browsers either. I do not think that they have widgets or anything for that matter.

    Even if they do, you cannot easily access them.
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Under Your Skin
    Posts
    5,875
    Quote Originally Posted by rlshosting View Post
    I do not think...
    Yes, this is true.

    All jokes aside, (could not resist that one)... I don't know what is best... it all depends on how you work. I mostly use IE 8... although, I've used IE 8, 7, 6; FF 2, 3.x; Opera 9, 10; chrome; and Safari this past weekend...

    Yea, I'm building some sites (actually modifying on a style sheet).

    I can't wait for chrome to catch on and put FF out of business...
    Windows 10 to Linux and Mac OSX: I'm PARSECs better than you. Eat my dust!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Tewksbury, MA
    Posts
    221
    I've been using Firefox since I first learned about it. It's a great problem, but no add-ons. I believe it just slows down the great software.

    I guess it's more of a personal preference though.
    Brandon Long | https://brandonlong.me/
    Just a guy with a brain.
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ferenginar
    Posts
    4,156
    I use my web browser to I dunno ... browse the internet? Who'd have thought?

    My main browser is Opera with FireFox and IE as my backups.

    Of course Opera is far from perfect, two gripes:
    1) Where are all the pretty toolbars, extensions and other plug ins?
    2) Rendering still sucks compared to FireFox.
    What's your budget?

    Seriously, what's your budget?
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    177
    I use Opear (9.64 and 10) for most things, Turbo is perfect for when Im using mobile broadband I dont like all the pretty toolbars etc. I have my address bar, and my search box. Im happy.

    I use FireFox for some sites, and I only have one AddOn, it lets me change my skin too loads of fancy ones (Personas?)

    IE 8 is also on my desktop, but rarely used.

    And Chrome has just been un-installed from my Notebook, no use for it.
    Darren Tod
    RPD Hosting
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Opera on day to day browsing. Firefox for development. IE when ****** sites force me too, or when I need to test stuff in IE.

    Who needs all the Firefox plugins if it will eat 3 times more memory and will be 4x slower. This is why I migrated from FF to Opera.

    I actually use Firefox as a container for Firebug .
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    I must be an oddball. The tool bars that I use seem to be quite useful. I do not have problems with my connection slowing or taking more memory.
    Last edited by M Bacon; 08-31-2009 at 12:37 PM.
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    602
    I have used Opera for years. Now Opera only hase one feature that sets them apart. Pressing Ctrl+Enter opens the Magic wand. I have all my passwords stored there. Anyone know how to get me over to Firefox?

    Opera 9.64 crashes a lot lately. I used Opera for the Zoom Cntrl+Scroll but now Firefox copied that.

    As stated before Opera's page rendering is still disappointing.

    I tried Firefox, it seems to run a lot slower. Maybe it's just me...

    --Michael
    Last edited by HostYourIdea; 08-31-2009 at 02:00 PM. Reason: typo
    ______________________________________________________
    HostYourIdea - Serving you for 12 years
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    519
    I use Opera and used to pay the purchase price for it years ago
    Opera is the lightest, fastest browser available (been proven many times). Of course everyone copied it's tabbed browsing, which it had many years ago. I see Google toolbar in FireFox is trying to copy its "Speed Dial" feature.

    Opera will render W3C compliant HTML/CSS just fine, so if your site doesn't look good in Opera, I would bet it isn't compliant code. Open up Opera and open maybe 4-10 websites in tabs, and then do the same in FireFox. Windows users look at task manager and you will see FireFox uses typically at least 3/4 times the memory.

    Right now I have 5 sites in tabs in Opera 9.64 and it is using 46,284K of memory (this thread, Amazon, Google, eBay, NewEgg). I have the same tabs opened in FireFox with Google Tool Bar installed and it is using 183,172K.

    Don't get me wrong, I use FireFox daily simply because I use it to keep a single website open almost day on a monitor of it's own, but for fast browsing speed and ease of customization and tweaking, Opera is by far my favorite browser (classic skin).
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by rlshosting View Post
    Opera has tool bars but no third party tool bars or ad dons that are not widgets. I would like to see the netcraft toolbar, yahoo toolbar, Google toolbar, conduit toolbar and many more.

    I use Internet Explorer more than Opera and Firefox more than both. Firefox has third party tool bars and thirty party ad dons. Opera just has widgets that go on your browser made by Opera or a third party. I do not like that period.

    I do not trust Internet Explorer and I will never trust Internet Explorer.

    I love having ad dons but I do not want them obstruct the browser. Tool bars and ad dons on the bottom or top of the browser may obstruct it but at least I do not have to drag it or turn it off when I view my browser. I can just go into the menu and shut it off. You can turn off widgets where they do no show but I just do not like it all.

    I just think that the browser does not look as good and looks boring without those things.

    I know its a browser but I think it should be more than that.

    I do not use Chrome, Safari, and other browsers either. I do not think that they have widgets or anything for that matter.

    Even if they do, you cannot easily access them.
    Good for you. Just don't come crying to me if my sites don't work for you.
    edgedirector.com
    managed dns global failover and load balance (gslb)
    exactstate.com
    uptime report for webhostingtalk.com
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    i used FireFox this good for me
    but one problem add-ons this bad
    Webgater.CoM - Cheap FullyManged Unmetered VPS , Master Reseller ,
    Reseller and Webhosting.
    Tomer A
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by HostYourIdea View Post
    I have used Opera for years. Now Opera only hase one feature that sets them apart. Pressing Ctrl+Enter opens the Magic wand. I have all my passwords stored there. Anyone know how to get me over to Firefox?

    Opera 9.64 crashes a lot lately. I used Opera for the Zoom Cntrl+Scroll but now Firefox copied that.

    As stated before Opera's page rendering is still disappointing.

    I tried Firefox, it seems to run a lot slower. Maybe it's just me...

    --Michael
    I used to have that problem in Opera 9.x and in 10 alpha.
    Now on 10 Beta 3 and no more crashes.

    Woooo, just find out that 10 RC is out
      0 Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Corvallis, OR
    Posts
    293
    Firefox is a wonderful browser, it is just very resource consuming. I recently started using Chrome from google and have found it to run faster and more efficient than Firefox and IE.
    Bobby Samai - Director of Marketing
    www.peakinternet.com 1.800.731.4871 Ext 4968 24/7 Support Center
    PEAK - Out to change the way business is being done since 1992
    Colocation | Dedicated | VPS | Shared | Broadband
      0 Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Memory is not that much of a problem these days. I have 2 GB on my laptop. But FF is still slow.

    And I've seen memory usages like 800 MB, com'on!
    Last edited by Adrian Andreias; 08-31-2009 at 06:23 PM.
      0 Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by sheic View Post
    Memory is not that much of a problem these days. I have 2 GB on my laptop. But FF is still slow.

    And I've seen memory usages like 800 MB, com'on!
    Are you guys using the latest firefox? I have 35 tabs open right now and im using less then 600mb. I dont use opera or chrome because the browsers wait for most of the site to load before showing the page wich just makes me feel its slower. Plus if you have gotten laptops recently they get 4gb ram or you can upgrade it not to notice it. When Im using photoshop or something like I do not dare to use less then 4gb of ram for it.
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.
      0 Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by sheic View Post
    I used to have that problem in Opera 9.x and in 10 alpha.
    Now on 10 Beta 3 and no more crashes.

    Woooo, just find out that 10 RC is out
    Thanks for the tip Sheic,

    Must keep up more. SO in your opinion what is stable and not crashing in Opera 9+ even the RCs?

    --Michael
    ______________________________________________________
    HostYourIdea - Serving you for 12 years
      0 Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Winnipeg
    Posts
    198
    I've used Opera since version 3.x and let me tell you, all the browsers that have popped up over the years are all copying Opera. In fact many opera widgets have been deleted by their owners because firefox users are copying them, which is really sad.

    Want a secure browser that renders properly? Use Opera. It's as simple as that.

    As far as toolbars, who needs em? Most of them are crap anyways and don't do anything really useful.
    http://www.wpdirectorypro.com is a premium plugin to make a directory using WordPress
    http://www.pocketbikeforum.com racing, mods, sales, and general discussion of pocket bikes
      0 Not allowed!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by HostYourIdea View Post
    SO in your opinion what is stable and not crashing in Opera 9+ even the RCs?
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    In the first minor versions of Opera 9.x it worked perfectly. Then after a while and some upgrades it starting crashing specially when opening new tab and searching google (CTRL+T, then enter google search phrase or "g word" if single word - productivity stuff from Opera . BTW did you know that "w phrase" in address bar searches in Wikipedia? ).

    Crashes seemed to be less frequent if I did some "Delete Private Data..." every once in a while.

    Upgraded to 10 alpha, then 10 beta-s and still had the same problem.

    Worth to notice that colleagues from my office were using the same Opera versions and same Vista version with no crash.
    The only difference I can think of is my display settings having larger DPI than standard.

    Anyway this disappeared on 10 Beta 3. All good and stable now .
      0 Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by plumsauce View Post
    Good for you. Just don't come crying to me if my sites don't work for you.
    I have not came to a site once like that.
      0 Not allowed!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Under Your Skin
    Posts
    5,875
    Quote Originally Posted by rlshosting View Post
    I have not came to a site once like that.
    There were a couple of sites that did not work for me in earlier versions of Opera... I only test opera for my own sites now, won't bother with attempting to test on other sites. Too many choices.

    Nice to be able to pull acid x, but sucks if the browser does not work with a limited number of websites (when all other main browsers will).
    Windows 10 to Linux and Mac OSX: I'm PARSECs better than you. Eat my dust!!!
      0 Not allowed!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    519
    I have never had a site "not" work in Opera, it's usually dirty HTML/CSS, but I have seen this in other browsers as well (render not as intended).
      0 Not allowed!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by tcstatic View Post
    I have never had a site "not" work in Opera, it's usually dirty HTML/CSS, but I have seen this in other browsers as well (render not as intended).
    Me either. Site that are not fully W3C complaint may not display properly, but that's not the fault of the browser.

    @Sheic, I will try Opera 10 Beta 3 and let you all know.

    --Michael
    ______________________________________________________
    HostYourIdea - Serving you for 12 years
      0 Not allowed!

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    I started with IE and went to Firefox. Now I continue to use Firefox.When I need IE I use Maxthon.
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.
      0 Not allowed!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by sheic View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean.

    ...

    Upgraded to 10 alpha, then 10 beta-s and still had the same problem.
    Just put Opera 10.00 build 1750 final release and so far its great. Still Firefox has not got an add-on like the magic wand--I just love that, because I have many login credentials for the same url for various clients. Opera handles it well.

    Thanks for the advice Sheic.

    --Michael
    ______________________________________________________
    HostYourIdea - Serving you for 12 years
      0 Not allowed!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by tcstatic View Post
    I have never had a site "not" work in Opera, it's usually dirty HTML/CSS, but I have seen this in other browsers as well (render not as intended).
    The only site I can think of that doesn't work properly is google maps. Try right clicking on the map. Seems like Opera insists on using their own method for handling right clicks which isn't compatible with the way IE or FF handles it.

    Other than that, Opera's a pretty solid browser.
      0 Not allowed!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by HostYourIdea View Post
    Just put Opera 10.00 build 1750 final release and so far its great. Still Firefox has not got an add-on like the magic wand--I just love that, because I have many login credentials for the same url for various clients. Opera handles it well.

    Thanks for the advice Sheic.

    --Michael
    Firefox has passwords storage and auto complete.

    Once a password is saved (and FF asks you on every password unless you disabled it), on the login form double click in the user edit box and you'll see an autocomplete-like drop down appear. Click on the user you want to login with (supports multiple users) and password will be autocompleted.

    Firefox is a serious browser that for sure is not missing basic features like this one and has tons of plugins. Firebug literally saved me days of my life.

    In short what I don't like about Firefox:
    1. High processor usage (the ugliest one)
    2. high memory usage
    3. Not comfortable with its user interface after I used Opera. They probably can fix 1. and 2. But little things like CTRL+TAB working as in a 1990 application not like in a 3rd millennium: Opera on CTRL+TAB moves you back to the previous tab that you were on and if you keep CTRL pressed and continue to TAB it will go to tabs history in last viewed order. This is the natural way for me and the way I expect modern applications to work. What FF does in the 1990 style is: cycle trough opened tabs on CTRL+TAB in the order they appear in browser. Hello, FF? I'm not a machine, give me a human-minded interface. Not machine minded interface where you probably cycle like for (i=0; i < tabs.length; ++i) show(tabs[i]);

    I know, I'm probably exaggerating . But this little browser things make me loose time.

    So, welcome to the world, Opera 10 (final release)!
      0 Not allowed!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    212
    It says that firefos is much more customised and faster.And IE is more,we can say it like "classic".A lot of people get fammiliar with using IE to surf on the internet when their OS is windows.But as a recently news said that people prefers firefox more,and the amount is increasing.
      0 Not allowed!

  28. #28
    I use Safari on my Macbook, and Chrome on my Windows laptop.

    I use to use Firefox all around, but will never go back as a primary browser. Its just to resource intensive and crashes to often. Plus its really slow compared to Chrome or Safari.

    I just love Web-Kit, so much so I think it should be the browser engine for every single browser, its the only one that really actually works properly.

    As a web designer its the only browser you don't have to do stupid fixes for cough IE 6,7,8 cough. And that makes my life just a little bit easier.
    Uploadingit.com - Fast Reliable File Hosting
      0 Not allowed!

  29. #29
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,599
    Our computers converted to Google Chrome best decision ever made love chrome...
    Automated, Secure & Low Cost cPanel Backups (on the cloud)
    For Users & Web Hosting Providers - User Backups
      0 Not allowed!

  30. #30
    I use FF 3.5.2 64bit 64bit FLASH and up to 64 tabs open and it runs great. seamonkey too I like and konq in file manger mode. IE I got rid of that many years ago.
      0 Not allowed!

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    17
    I love FF... its always been good to me!!
      0 Not allowed!

  32. #32
    Me too , I had Opera install it if i want to check anything , but firefox is the king .
      0 Not allowed!

  33. #33
    I personally use Google Chrome because Chrome has the fast Webkit rendering engine. It also uses a "multiple process" features that Opera, FF, and Safari lack (and IE also has). It's great because it can reclaim lost memory and the whole browser will not crash if one page or plugin becomes unresponsive.
      0 Not allowed!

  34. #34
    opera is light....
    my favorite web browser...
      0 Not allowed!

  35. #35
    I use google chrom, it works great for me.
      0 Not allowed!

  36. #36
    I did install google chrome , last some minutes and gone for good , lol
      0 Not allowed!

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    819
    If i'm on the PC, it's always Firefox and if i'm using my mobile, i use Opera Mini.

      0 Not allowed!

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by darkeden View Post
    Are you guys using the latest firefox? I have 35 tabs open right now and im using less then 600mb. I dont use opera or chrome because the browsers wait for most of the site to load before showing the page wich just makes me feel its slower. Plus if you have gotten laptops recently they get 4gb ram or you can upgrade it not to notice it. When Im using photoshop or something like I do not dare to use less then 4gb of ram for it.
    Yes, latest Firefox version.

    Was looking at 800MB memory usage yesterday with 4-6 opened tabs, memory intensive sites, but still.

    Anyway, memory is not the biggest problem these days. There are the other issues I was talking about.
      0 Not allowed!

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    563
    If you have enough memory, FF should the first choice with large number useful addons. If not, Opera should be the best.
    ►ExpertWebHost.NET- Instant reliable CPanel hosting since 2008+
    ►Quality Shared, Reseller and VPS hosting
    ►Choose to host from US/Uk/Canada/Netherlands/Australia - 10 locations
      0 Not allowed!

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    177
    My FireFox refuses too open work now, it starts up then I get this program is not responding. Strange as it worked for months, and nothings been changed
    Darren Tod
    RPD Hosting
      0 Not allowed!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is Opera 9 what Firefox 2 should be?
    By Cirtex in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 11-17-2005, 12:07 AM
  2. Firefox 1.0.3 v Opera 8
    By RossH in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 03:02 PM
  3. Opera, Firefox, vs. IE
    By Christina in forum Web Design and Content
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 02:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •