Anyone know a good web host? (boston,ma)

Hi guys,

I'm an aspiring web designer looking for a good web host. I'm basically just going to use it as a way to show off my work and use it to practice designing and a little bit of coding in the future, such as javascript, php, and some flash.

This is my first time dealing with web hosts, so i would like to find a good one to do business with in the future. does anyone have any suggestions?

Also, which company is best for getting your own domain name?

-kind regards,
    mike

There are a lot of great web hosts out there, many of them on this forum. It would help to know how much disk space and bandwidth you will be using, what your budget is etc... but it sounds like a basic shared package located in the US will suit your needs. I recommend you purchase your domain name and hosting separately, as it will give you more flexibility in the future should you decide to switch hosting companies. Some good domain name places are Namecheap, Dynadot, GoDaddy, and Enom among others.

welcome to the webmaster world

as for domains I'd recommend getting the domain from godaddy.com or namecheap.com - I use both and they are both great. either one is good - godaddy has cheaper .com domains

as for host, do you have any idea of how much space you may be using? if it's just a few gigs then any host would be fine for you. you should also take a look at the offers section here, tons of hosts to look at.

Hello Mike,

Do you have a type of budget in mind? I don't imagine you will require a large amount of space or bandwidth at the beginning so a majority of hosts should have very affordable options available to you. It you get a hosting package with 30 - 50GB of bandwidth a month, you should be set for quite a while.