hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : I never know which is better, please help..
Reply

Forum Jump

I never know which is better, please help..

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:07 AM
Maxell Maxell is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8

I never know which is better, please help..


when it comes to hardware, I feel stupid because I don't understand and cant figure out how to check if its good or bad, I can tell only by the RAM and the Processor, but then it comes Intel (pentium, xeon) ah blah blah ? AMD ?.. so many different versions..

I am currently on a server : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.06GHz

I am paying $110 for this with 2 GB RAM and cPanel included, sometimes I need a support so I pay extra $35 per month to another management company..

...but the server seems to be DOWN most of the times, so I need to upgrade, which option would you suggest from this point, from Xeon 3.06 to upgrade, I don't want to go like paying $300 per month, so just a small change with good hardware would be good to go with for next couple of months..

I was with Softlayer in the past and had great experience, but I had to pay $235 for a server I think Quad Core 3220, but I cant afford it at the moment. You may also suggest any reputable companies like Softlayer, liquidweb, Burstnet etc as well (if not allowed please pm me)

cheers



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:18 AM
Geekfer Geekfer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 29
Just search this forum and you will find a lot of hosting providers with good server settings at affordable price.
But please take into consideration if a hosting offers unlimited plans then don't go with that company because nothing is unlimited in the world.

  #3  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:39 AM
Maxell Maxell is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
thanks for the suggestion. But to be more specific which system would be better than "Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.06GHz" and be within my range, I will search the offers myself..

thanks

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:47 AM
ItsJustHosting ItsJustHosting is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxell View Post
thanks for the suggestion. But to be more specific which system would be better than "Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.06GHz" and be within my range, I will search the offers myself..

thanks
Xeons are server-grade quad cores, and what you have now seems pretty good (of course depending on how old your Xeon is). Perhaps it is your provider to blame and not necessarily the hardware. A downgrade of what you have now would be a Core2Quad, and an upgrade would be a Dual Quad Xeon, but the latter may cost quite a pretty penny. A Pentium anything would be a major downgrade. Therefore I think you should stick with the basic processor configuration you have now, but instead try switching providers.

  #5  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:27 AM
xDesign365 xDesign365 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 610
What might be a better idea is to look at the reason your server is down all the time.

It is certainly not a reason to upgrade unless you are having performance issues - is it because the hardware is not up to scratch or is it the provider that is causing the downtime?

  #6  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:28 AM
IGXHost IGXHost is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,570
Any idea what the causes of your server's downtime may be? Did your provider suggested that you needed an upgrade?

  #7  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:39 PM
Maxell Maxell is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks you for posting replies, I really appreciate. thanks

As I one site that only has 400-500 visitors usually in 20 minutes, that has phpBB forum installed and has large database, so one of its files (viewtopic.php) and also MySQL has high CPU usage, I think thats the reason it goes down..

Just one quick question, I have 2 GB of ram on current server, will a
"Core 2 Quad" with 8 GB better than my current server ?

regards

  #8  
Old 08-27-2009, 08:00 PM
Maxell Maxell is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
... 8GB Ram actually..

  #9  
Old 08-27-2009, 08:21 PM
CoishAssociates CoishAssociates is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, ON
Posts: 385
Yes Maxell, a server with 8GB of ram will be much better for your setup. You will also want to look into a more powerful processor.

Running a popular forum, RAM is a very crucial part of the puzzle.

  #10  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:47 PM
cmsoko cmsoko is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: chicago
Posts: 12
Unfortunately the Xeon you mentioned is very old. Pentium4 architecture with very low bus speed, memory on chip and Single core. if you search for intel processors on wiki it lists the intel processors in order and with specifications. Just search for the processor number and you will know roughly its quality compared to another.

Just because a server is overloaded should not cause it to go down unless in extreme conditions. slow performance yes, down for some time no. I would ask your provider if you don't know or your management person to look at and show you ram, cpu usage for last week and month.

Without knowing too much sounds like the provider is having issues. either hardware on your server, power issues or internet issues causing your downtime. Unfortunately you say "the server seems" to be down at MOST times. I use siteuptime.com and pay but they have a trial where you don't pay. it can check pings every 5 minutes and even make sure your website is up.

  #11  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:27 PM
10gbus 10gbus is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 149
May be you should upgrade your RAM to 8GB. This will increase your server performance totally.

  #12  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:43 PM
B r a n d o n B r a n d o n is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 428
What type of hard drives are you using? I'm assuming with that monthly price you're using regular SATA drives. You could possibly upgrade to 4gb ram and have a good 10k drive or 15k drive would actually help it run faster.

__________________
Brandon Williams - 7 Years and counting in the hosting industry.

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?