How to choose the right hosting package?

I am new to webhosting talk, so please bear with me if this is the umteenth post with the same age old question: How to choose the right hosting package?

Doing research into my current hosting problem has raised more questions that answers: How to know when to look for 100MB vs 10 MB uplink ports; How to compare apples to apples when reviewing hosting providers; Can a VPS work as well as a dedicated server; What are additional costs to consider when moving from a shared web platform to a dedicated server platform because it certainly isn't just the hardware.

To start with, this is our current solution:

Email hosted on a mail hosting provider (resellerclub)
    Web hosted on shared Linux (Cartika)
    DNS and Domain hosted on by a Name Provider (enom).

The problem:
    1) Bandwidth usage for the web site has grown to about 3Gb/day which seems to be high. This web site is a new site, so stats from the old site were irrelevent.
    2) Web host and email host will not support a monthly mailing to our customers (current 20K but expected to grow).
    3) Email hosting model is changing to a per mailbox with individual from fixed mailboxes and shared storage.
    4) I get dumped on when emails are bouncing, user's can't access email, etc.... I have enough to do without this to worry about.

I have been asked to provide a report on options available. Management is NOT computer savvy, and insists that they want to be able to host everything on one 'server.' I have to filter this and explain the pros and cons to this attitude.

I need some advice on how to determine what type of solution I need. The current web platform seems OK, response is good, but we are peaked on bandwidth, and it will only increase when we start adding videos. The next step is to special purchase additional BW, or move to a VPS. I like the clustered approach by Cartika.