Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,063

    Data Centers Using Wind Turbine Power

    How many of you are using this, and how efficent are these turbines?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,513
    Never heard of anyone doing it, my guess is you would need a lot of them to notice an impact on the usage.

    Also suppose wind always goes up and down, not the kind of power fluctuations that you want for computer equipment, just a guess don't know much about them really.

    Woudl be interesting to see if anywhere has or is using them
    - Buying up websites, side-projects and companies - PM Me! -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    The one I know of using Wind power is Burst NET. Not sure how efficient the wind farm is but I'm sure being in PA they get enough wind lol.
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    3,301
    If you are purchasing green energy for your data center, you are not typically operating your own wind farm You are just buying power in a deregulated market from a power generator that is using some green power source, usually for a premium.
    Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
    AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
    Offering Dedicated Server and Colocation Hosting from our SSAE 16 SOC 2, Type 2 Certified Data Center.
    Current specials here. Check them out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    239
    The typical way of doing it is buying "credits" to feed wind generated power back onto the grid, equal to the amount of power the DC uses. That way they get stable power through the normal supply channels, but will essentially be able to say they have indirectly used wind power.

  6. #6
    Sounds like a certain President's dream, eh?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    http://www.mwdata.net

    ^^ These guys are 100% wind powered.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NY & PA
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by subigo View Post
    http://www.mwdata.net

    ^^ These guys are 100% wind powered.
    They still get there power from normal power company.


    From There Site:

    Power
    * Power to facility: Dedicated feeds from local power company
    Like other have said they buy offset power credits.

    There is no DC that just uses WIND power.

    Also there DC is small, per there site it's on 1000sq Feet.
    Robert Merrihue - President/CEO
    http://www.bethehost.com
    Where resellers become a host on servers we own and operate.
    Web Hosting Since 2000 *** 12+ Years in the hosting industry

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    Ok maybe it's a bit impossible to rely solely on wind power. Just like Solar power, cause what happens at night? lol. Hydropower though, now that might be something to look about.
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    741
    I think there are a few Canadian DCs that run on all hydro power.

    As far as wind, like others said you can't rely on it entirely. It needs to be complimented by other sources.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    China
    Posts
    350
    All web hosting services use "Renewable Energy Credits". There isn't one directly powered by wind. Does anyone even know of one company that runs it's own wind farm? I doubt it.

    And this whole REC fad is really just a business decision. It costs them a negligible maybe 1% of revenue, and they get a massive marketing boost from it. The company that promoted it to Hostgator, DreamHost, etc. was a consulting firm that literally explained to them how to profit from being "green", their name is Integrated Ecosystem Market Services and they (check "about us" section) offer "comprehensive carbon solutions that yield high rates of return". It doesn't cost these companies anything.

    How about you just ignore their strategic business decisions and pick the best web hosting service? If you're concerned about the environment, do something else other than buy into the "green" corporate fascism going on today. It's profitable for everyone except the fooled consumer.

    If they "run on" alternative power it's only because their local power company is (which most still do not). There isn't any web hosting service that runs on it's own hydro power, wind power, or solar power.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jax, FL
    Posts
    2,707
    I believe iMountain uses Solar Power -- http://imountain.com/
    Daniel | Server Complete, LLC
    Windows VPS // Dedicated Servers // Backup Services
    Wholly owned hardware and self operated network (AS19531) in Jacksonville, FL

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt - HostMist View Post
    Ok maybe it's a bit impossible to rely solely on wind power. Just like Solar power, cause what happens at night? lol. Hydropower though, now that might be something to look about.
    Generally speaking solar, wind etc aren't a "live feed" source of electricity. They power battery cells that are then, in turn, used to power the house, building, whatever. Do you think all these green houses running off of solar power go 100% dark at night?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    Quote Originally Posted by jpotrz View Post
    Generally speaking solar, wind etc aren't a "live feed" source of electricity. They power battery cells that are then, in turn, used to power the house, building, whatever. Do you think all these green houses running off of solar power go 100% dark at night?
    You need to have a set amount of panels to charge up and you need to be in a good area where sunlight is abundant like in the desert.

    In my area, you bet it'll go dark prob half way.
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    MO
    Posts
    629
    Quote Originally Posted by RobM View Post
    They still get there power from normal power company.

    Like other have said they buy offset power credits.

    There is no DC that just uses WIND power.

    Also there DC is small, per there site it's on 1000sq Feet.
    Wrong. They get their power from the power company, but the power company is completely wind powered. Everything in Rock Port, Missouri is... they are the first town in the U.S. to be 100% wind powered: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rock_Port,_Missouri

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Support Ticket Near You!
    Posts
    1,106
    Quote Originally Posted by jpotrz View Post
    Generally speaking solar, wind etc aren't a "live feed" source of electricity. They power battery cells that are then, in turn, used to power the house, building, whatever. Do you think all these green houses running off of solar power go 100% dark at night?
    In Australia (unless you're remote or want an UPS for mission critical stuff) batteries aren't used when solar panels / wind power is applied.

    As others said, you simply get a credit for the electricity you put back into the grid, rather than directly supplying your home with it.

    To be completely wind dependent would be extremely hard, costly and would always need a form of redundancy ("local" power station). At the end of the day it isn't quite worth it *yet* but it seems very close.

    There are some new skyscrapers that now implement wind power with the turnbine (for example) in between the two towers of the building. This is within the UAE.
    HostGuard.net - VPS Control Panel
    Automating and monitoring your hosting business.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    11
    Just on the subject of wind farms - actually a recent study showed that if you have a grid of them over a relatively wide geographic area , they actually do provide a pretty constant and ripple free source of power (when its not windy here it is somewhere else ...) . Combined with storable like geothermal or hydro it is very viable.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Katatonic View Post
    In Australia (unless you're remote or want an UPS for mission critical stuff) batteries aren't used when solar panels / wind power is applied.

    As others said, you simply get a credit for the electricity you put back into the grid, rather than directly supplying your home with it.
    This is how it's done in the US for the most part. During the day when you are generating more than you need, you sell it back to the power company, and then buy it back at night, or on days when you don't generate enough. Of course this is mostly done in homes.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco/Hot Springs
    Posts
    988
    I found one "datacenter" in the Bay Area thats 100% solar powered, but only because they put it back into the grid and feed off the grid the rest of the time. They've got 1.4MW of Solar which is pretty impressive, but not really enough to run a proper datacenter with.
    AppliedOperations - Premium Service
    Bandwidth | Colocation | Hosting | Managed Services | Consulting
    www.appliedops.net

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    China
    Posts
    350
    Quote Originally Posted by appliedops View Post
    I found one "datacenter" in the Bay Area thats 100% solar powered, but only because they put it back into the grid and feed off the grid the rest of the time. They've got 1.4MW of Solar which is pretty impressive, but not really enough to run a proper datacenter with.
    I'll bite. Who uses that datacenter? I'm curious. Also see that's the problem though, is that they have to feed back from the grid, despite putting into it, you could argue they are still using "non-green" energies from that grid.


Similar Threads

  1. Home solar and/or wind power, how long to break even point?
    By john2k in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2008, 08:01 AM
  2. Homemade £20 wind turbine!
    By junglecat in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 06:59 PM
  3. Data Centers in SG
    By qwer2007 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 06:18 AM
  4. Power issues at data centers
    By zweb in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 11:06 AM
  5. Which Data Centers?
    By JenniH in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 162
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 09:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •