* Blogs : which way do I go?

I've been intrigued with the whole blog thing and was thinking of attaching one to the site I'm building.

I'm a bit confused which, out of many, blogging options to use.

Now I'm an amateur HTML hand-coder who doesn't intend to learn Perl, but figure I better learn how to handle a CGI-bin, CSS, DHTML and XML before long, so I can move past that amateur status. But for now, I'm looking for a blog option that doesn't require a geek badge.

Most of the few places that rated 4 or 5 blog options were short on detail, and didn't cover anywhere near the full range of blog sites that can be chosen. For example, CNET rated Blogger, Live Journal, Diaryland and Radio Userland, but did not even cover Pitas, Xanga, GreyMatter, Moveable Type or others.

And CNET's review was riddled with errors, per the user responses. Oh well.

About a year ago, I started to set up one from Blogger and enjoyed its posting ease, but while trying to create a layout similar to the design used elsewhere in the site I wanted it for, I ran into difficulties. I posted questions in their user forums; most went unanswered.

Reviews also suggest some of these popular ones have downtime problems.

Based on user response to CNET's review of Radio Userland, it sounds like a breeze, but asking for help there isn't met with indifference, but with rudeness. Hmmmmmm...

Several users swear by Movable Type, but also say it takes a bit to set up the CGI and Perl at first; I'm not sure I'm geek enough.

So I'm curious what folks here have tried and can recommend. Features I'm after are a quick learning curve for set-up, ease of use, customizable design, decent support, a reader response system and good uptime. A good RSS feed would be a nice extra.

I'm not adverse to spending a modest amount for this and no-one needs to remind me that 'ya get what ya pay for'.

Feedback?

- Kevin