Dedicated server options

I am looking for a host that is similiar to Softlayer in offerings/service.

I have had good luck with them and really like their services but have a client that likes to mix up his servers both geographically and host.

We are using the Dallas SL DC and are looking for something in general Chicago area or East Coast (WDC/NY/etc). I have had good luck with The Planet in the past but they seem to only be located in Dallas/Houston. Not looking for any one on the SL network (10tb, etc) as that would kind of defeat the point.

I have had good luck with FDC but have mainly only used them for more bandwith heavy services rather than high performance servers and am just not sure I want to use them yet.

I am in the market for a dual proc/quad core setup. Ability to customize (similiar to SL) is preferred.

Any suggestions?

Try Gigenet. I have no experience with their services or whether they're fit for the purpose. I just know they offer servers in Chicago. Curious, are you looking to implement some sort of geo failover or just not wanting to put all eggs in one basket?

Regards
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

The general idea is just to not put all the eggs in one basket.

Failover/load balancing/etc would all be future projects.

Talking reply

I am more then sure, if you need reliable provider and great services then check Caro.net. We were their resellers for 5 years, and never have any problems with them!
    Last edited by Billingchamp; 08-24-2009 at 11:37 AM. Reason: :)

SL have DC in east and west coast, so I don't understand your search?

Quote Originally Posted by hosteur View Post
    SL have DC in east and west coast, so I don't understand your search?