Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    815

    Core2Duo 16 GB of RAM, possible?

    I'm not sure if Core2Duo can handle up to 16 GB of RAM, is that possible?
    All things work together for the good of those who love God - Romans 8:28

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, ON
    Posts
    385
    No, I believe 8 is tops.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by CoishAssociates View Post
    No, I believe 8 is tops.
    Pretty sure that is true

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    I've seen some mobo advertised as they can handel it but always via 4GB DDR2 which are $$$. With in the dedicated market a xeon with 16GB will work out cheaper
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  5. #5
    I doubt the Core2Duo will limit the amount of RAM, as that is usually dictated by your motherboard. Chances are you only have 4 slots of RAM on your board, so you will need to use 4GB modules. Someone correct me with some proof if I'm wrong .
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, ON
    Posts
    385
    The Core2Duo I *believe* doesn't limit the ram itself, but the technology / motherboard built around them. That said I assume it may be possible to find one at 16, but I don't believe so.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by CoishAssociates View Post
    The Core2Duo I *believe* doesn't limit the ram itself, but the technology / motherboard built around them. That said I assume it may be possible to find one at 16, but I don't believe so.
    The one I have in my PC was relatively cheap and supports up to 16GB, which is why I posted about it, and it's not exactly rare from what I've seen.
    478east
    High Bandwidth Servers
    Custom Hosting Solutions

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, ON
    Posts
    385
    Well, there you have it, I stand corrected. What board is it?

  9. #9
    4x4GB sticks will do it, assuming your MB supports it.. most recent ones should I think? http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_I...J3k&templete=2
    Exceptional VPS Hosting. With love, 6sync.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,218
    Quote Originally Posted by sharmaine1111 View Post
    I'm not sure if Core2Duo can handle up to 16 GB of RAM, is that possible?
    The ASUS P5QL-VM motherboards claim to support Core2Duo, and up to 16GB of memory.

    http://usa.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...30&modelmenu=2

  11. #11
    some motherboard can run 16GB memory

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,513
    I am sure you could find a mobo out there that will do it.
    But its a weak cpu considering your app's are going to use 16GB of RAM?
    - Buying up websites, side-projects and companies - PM Me! -

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    506
    I think there will be some mobo companies that might say they support it. It would be a waste of money to get it though

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Manitoba
    Posts
    59
    Possible: Yes
    Cheap: No
    Worth It: Not really unless its a Quad Core

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jax, FL
    Posts
    2,707
    Quote Originally Posted by jtg1993 View Post
    Possible: Yes
    Cheap: No
    Worth It: Not really unless its a Quad Core
    Yep, I agree... With 16GB RAM you should be using good disks too.

    It's all part of the puzzle
    Daniel | Server Complete, LLC
    Windows VPS // Dedicated Servers // Backup Services
    Wholly owned hardware and self operated network (AS19531) in Jacksonville, FL

  16. #16
    With DELL servers Core2Duo you can use 16 GB and 32 Gb of ram.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    762
    All the motherboards for Core2 stuff that I have looked have supported at the most 8GB of ram. None of them officially supported 4GB RAM modules.
    Last edited by PersonalJ; 08-23-2009 at 10:01 PM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by PersonalJ View Post
    All the motherboards for Core2 stuff that I have looked have supported at the most 8GB of ram. None of them officially supported 4GB RAM modules.
    This has also been what I have found. Low end boards are 4Gb and higher end boards are 8Gb.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by cristibighea View Post
    I doubt the Core2Duo will limit the amount of RAM, as that is usually dictated by your motherboard. Chances are you only have 4 slots of RAM on your board, so you will need to use 4GB modules. Someone correct me with some proof if I'm wrong .
    Exactly, The max amount of ram a computer can handle is not determined by the CPU, its determined by the chipset.

    Most motherboards will not support 4GB modules. Your really going to have to go to a server board to be able to support 16GB + unless its for a Core i7.
    Uploadingit.com - Fast Reliable File Hosting

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    198
    It's quite easy to use 16GB Ram with a Core2Duo with a socket 775:
    All Intel 4X chipsets support 4GB DDR2 modules (P41, P43, P45, G41, G43, G45, Q43, Q45), so every motherboard with such an chipset and 4 Ram modules would be sufficient.

    But as these 4GB DDR2 modules are not cheap, it makes more sense to use socket 771 or 1366 or less Ram

Similar Threads

  1. ***100 Unmetered, Core2Duo, 320 GB HDD, 4 GB RAM!!!***
    By MikeNETRACK in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 02:55 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 11:28 PM
  3. Dallas: Core2Duo/2GB: $129.95
    By JonBiloh in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 06:47 AM
  4. P4 3.0ghz $110/m \ Core2Duo 1.8ghz $140/m \ Core2Duo 2.4ghz $170/m
    By bodhisattva in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 05:30 PM
  5. core2duo E6400 from $99/mo
    By Russ Foster in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 08:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •