website upscaling

hello everybody! (well, first post)

I am kiriakos and actually am a total newbie on the aspects of website hosting and their various troubles. I have been makig websites for about three years now, as a hobby, having a shared webhosting provider wich I have to say I am quite satisfacted with but as working on my last project wich is some sort of a youtube/VR hybrid two questios where popping into my mind.. so here we go:

1) Is a shared hosting account suitable for such a site?
    2) How do websites that outgrow their hosting capabilities seamlesly upscale without going offline (if there is such a procedure or technology)

from what I understand most of you are qute experienced with webhosting, dedicated servers and all that other stuff that just confuses me atm, so I hope that some of you might want to enlighten me a bit.

thanks everybody for reading, I am awaiting your replies!
    k

Hello and welcome to the forum.
    1. Yes that could be enough, but that could not be allowed (just some web hosting service providers can offer that)
    2. I assume in this case you will need to monitor your web sites
    ASPnix Web Hosting - ASP.NET, MS SQL, AJAX, Hyper-V
    Microsoft Hosting and Virtualization

Have you asked your current provider about scaling possibilities?

It is usually easy to upgrade any of the hosting packages in the same range without downtime or service disruption, at any time. If you wish to upgrade to a VPS from a shared plan (different range), there would be more disruption involved in the change. You should upgrade your hosting plan as your site(s) grow and you need more resources (diskspace, monthly traffic) than you currentlly have on your plan.

The most important thing would be to go with a host that can facilitate the upscaling in house. Start on a small shared package, as your site grows increase your resources for that package. Should you get too big for that, scale up to a VPS, and finally a dedicated server or more.