Beware the Doster Disaster

To All;

I've been designing & developing websites since 1995. In all my years of experience I've never encountered a more inept hosting environment than Dotster. At one time I had nearly fifty clients hosted there, back during the days when they actually functioned with some level of integrity (or before I had more thorough knowledge of their ineptitude), and have since moved them all away. The problems I experience include:

• Multiple identifiers on accounts. This was the first aggravation I had to deal with. There's a 7 digit hosting Customer ID#, then another separate 7 digit number also associated with the hosting customer, a 6 digit 'webspace' identifier, and a 7 digit domain ID#. Four separate identifier numbers. This becomes fun when you have a few dozen accounts with Dotster and receive an email alert about an account, identified by only one of those four number. Happy hunting.

• Dotster's is one of the more difficult landscapes to navigate. Making that even more arduous is having to deal with smart-ass tech support reps who occasionally become insulting in their language behind their assumptions about how much a caller should somehow automatically, intuitively know about the maze the rep is already familiar with.

• In all the years I spent dealing with Dotster, about four or five before I wized-up, I never, ever, ever once got a billing rep on the line. Go ahead... try it now. Call 360.449.5900 and wait for the billing department prompt. You'll be told that everyone's busy, so please leave a message. Of all the places you don't want to insult your customers with that kind of message, billing should be at the top of the list.