Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263

    OpenVZ Kernel Update

    Whats the best, safe and easy way for upgrade OpenVZ main node kernel?
    Help me please.
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Im do it with yum, but i have following error:
    ERROR with rpm_check_debug vs depsolve:
    Package kernel conflicts with ecryptfs-utils < 44.

    So i, removed ecryptfs-utils with yum and update kernel.
    Kernel updated, but after reboot all vm down and server back to normal kernel (not openvz kernel)

    Where is issue and how can resolve this issue?
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  4. #4
    You need to check with the file /boot/grub/grub.conf and the default should be the OpenVZ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by sysgallery View Post
    You need to check with the file /boot/grub/grub.conf and the default should be the OpenVZ
    Yes, i know.
    Its ok now and openvz kernel loaded.
    But i need to upgrade server kernel.
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    On a Speck!!!!!
    Posts
    216
    Just type "yum update" in the shell and the kernels that have the updated versions will be available for installation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    I have this error now - after yum update:
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Missing Dependency: perl(Convert::ASN1) is needed by package samba

    How can resolve this issue?
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by persianwhois View Post
    I have this error now - after yum update:
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution
    Error: Missing Dependency: perl(Convert::ASN1) is needed by package samba

    How can resolve this issue?
    If this is web server, you may not need samba, run

    Code:
    yum remove samba

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,446
    Do you have customers on this system? I say this because you can easily break the OS install by just removing things and not knowing their dependencies.

    First: The host (hypervisor) shouldn't have samba installed. It should be as bare as possible.

    Second (and the reason I say this): I've seen people attempt to do updates with yum and a fairly common issue is a conflict with openssl. I've seen people take a fully built system and remove openssl with plans to reinstall and fix the conflict.

    Guess what happens? Renders the entire system and nearly all administrative commands useless because it's so deeply integrated.

    I'm not saying you'd do this but those two issues you've stated are pretty common problems. If you do have customers on the system, I'd highly recommend investing in managed services.
    FiberPeer.Com | | REAL DDoS Protection | Cloud Hosting | VPS | Dedicated Servers | High Bandwidth Hosting | 1Gbps-10Gbps Unmetered
    FiberPeer DDoS Mitigation | ethProxy Upgraded! | 14-Years Experience | Emergency 24/7 Support
    Visit us @ www.fiberpeer.com

  10. #10
    Or download the missing package and install. perl* may be disabled in your yum.conf by cpanel causing the problem.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Quote Originally Posted by serverorigin View Post
    Do you have customers on this system? I say this because you can easily break the OS install by just removing things and not knowing their dependencies.

    First: The host (hypervisor) shouldn't have samba installed. It should be as bare as possible.

    Second (and the reason I say this): I've seen people attempt to do updates with yum and a fairly common issue is a conflict with openssl. I've seen people take a fully built system and remove openssl with plans to reinstall and fix the conflict.

    Guess what happens? Renders the entire system and nearly all administrative commands useless because it's so deeply integrated.

    I'm not saying you'd do this but those two issues you've stated are pretty common problems. If you do have customers on the system, I'd highly recommend investing in managed services.
    I removed samba and some package and reboot server.
    Server is down now and could not boot again.
    I see some system file broken in server monitor.
    I have many customer on this server, this server has 2 h.d.d (raid1) how can resolve this issue and up server again?
    Help me please.
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,446
    Hate to say I told you so. Your best bet is to run a rescue/reinstall of the OS. It is likely without having the expertise or KVM access then it won't be something easily repaired.

    Sadly the RAID 1 config will not help in this situation. Anything that occurs on disk 1 will replicate to disk 2.
    FiberPeer.Com | | REAL DDoS Protection | Cloud Hosting | VPS | Dedicated Servers | High Bandwidth Hosting | 1Gbps-10Gbps Unmetered
    FiberPeer DDoS Mitigation | ethProxy Upgraded! | 14-Years Experience | Emergency 24/7 Support
    Visit us @ www.fiberpeer.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    340
    What is the error/message do you see ? Does the server boot atleast to the command prompt/runlevel 3 ?

    If you can provide a screenshot or the error message you see we can assist you.
    Twitter : http://twitter.com/eth1networks
    Contact Us : support[at]eth1.in

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    I have kvm access.
    I see server unabe to find kernel file.
    Do you have any idea?
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    Please see attached files.
    How can see the files located on hard disk?
    Maybe grub.conf damaged, so if i can see /boot/, i can load server with correct kernel file.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails boot1.bmp   boot2.bmp  
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    340
    You need to boot into rescue mode using the Operating System CD1. Basically you'll need the help of a data center engineer to insert the CD1 and reboot the server. You can then connect remotely via KVM and boot into rescue mode using the parameter 'linux rescue' if it's a CentOS/Redhat OS.
    Twitter : http://twitter.com/eth1networks
    Contact Us : support[at]eth1.in

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    263
    They reboted my server with knopix.
    How can mount raid1 vol group?

    is it true?
    mount /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol02 mount-dir
    Need More Power?!
    PersianWhois.Com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 05:31 PM
  2. Openvz Kernel vs Dedicated Kernal
    By beingdefined in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 10:29 PM
  3. experienced admin for openvz kernel update problem
    By wise in forum Systems Management Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 03:28 AM
  4. OpenVZ Kernel Tweak / Customization
    By cmimrie in forum Systems Management Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 07:41 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 04:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •