Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009

    how many memory do you use ?


    for q6600 and q9550,

    i feel 4gb ram is enough,

    but im not sure if 8g will get better performance a lot,

    could you share your experience about how many ram do you use?


  2. #2
    i go with 8 gb will good
    Webgater.CoM - Cheap FullyManged Unmetered VPS , Master Reseller ,
    Reseller and Webhosting.
    Tomer A

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Chicago, IL
    What specifically are you planning to use the server for? For many uses 4GB will be more than adequate, for others, it isn't. The more memory you have for MySQL and data caching the better though.
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    8GB is obviously better than 4GB .

    But depends on what you're doing with the server.
    If your server is not under high load you might not need 8GB.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    As people already said, 8GB is better than 4GB but it all depends what you will be doing with your server. I would go with 8GB, shouldn't cost you that much more and it's always good to have alot of RAM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Tampa, FL
    Run a top report in linux or check out the taskmanager in windows. See how much ram that you're using currently and base your decision on what you find. You'll almost certainly use up more ram in a windows server but it still doesn't warrant 8GB right out of the gate.
    Dave Parish

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Eta Carinae
    the more ram you have the more ram your softwares tend to seek out - it's not easy getting to 4gb of ram usage unless you're doing something very resource consuming. but as others have said, we can't really recommend which would be better unless we know what you plan on doing - of course 8gb is "better" since it's more but it will also cost you more money - if you have the money to invest then go ahead, otherwise don't over buy resources (just a tip)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    I only have 2GB, LoL!
    We develop brand identity for the web.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Services ~ Custom Web Design, Branding & Identity, Development, Hosting & more!
    Portfolio ~ Websites, User Interfaces, Widgets & more!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    i have 8gb but i use up around 5-6gb for my applications.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Depending on what the server is for, we generally have them equipped with a minimum of 8GB.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    I have a X3320 CPU as my personal server, i have 8GB's of ram with that however i need more using bugger all CPU but lots of ram. ( being about 300mhz of one of the cores.)

    Sadly 8GB is the max the mobo will take.

Similar Threads

  1. Cpanel VPS - Plenty of free memory, but 'committed' memory exceeds VPS RAM. Why?
    By tnedator in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 02:56 PM
  2. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 06:38 PM
  3. Quad Core 2GB Memory or Dual Core 4GB Memory? Complex Queries!
    By Gareth-AWD in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 12:02 PM
  4. Out Of Memory problems. My server is down. Memory logs attached.
    By guarriman in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 10:01 PM
  5. Allowed memory exceeded... how can I up the allowed memory?
    By Noel4DMB in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-15-2003, 07:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts