Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    rvsitebuilder gives php_network_getaddresses

    Hello,

    We have WHM 11 + centos5 on server. I have rvsitebuilder license and trying to install it. But when i click on "RVSiteBuilder Installer" from WHM it gives following error

    php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known

    firewall is off on server and port 80,443 are working fine. The ip and hostname of server are also resolving. Can anyone give any details on this issue.

    waiting for the reply.


    its_joe
    Thanks.

    its_joe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    Check if localhost is stated on /etc/hosts
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    3,878
    also check chmod 644 /etc/hosts

    owm
    ()
    Life's what you make it.

  4. #4
    Hello,

    localhost is mentioned in /etc/hosts file and also permission is set to 644 . please check following

    [[email protected] ~]# ll /etc/hosts
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 64 Aug 7 19:58 /etc/hosts

    [[email protected] ~]# cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    <IP> server.domain.info server
    (server IP is mentioned in the place <IP>)

    Is there anything else needed to be checked ????
    Thanks.

    its_joe

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    11,868
    server.domain.info server

    Is that literal or did you replaced instead of your server hostname?
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    Quote Originally Posted by Jedito View Post
    server.domain.info server

    Is that literal or did you replaced instead of your server hostname?
    I don't see why people censor their domains and IPs when they ask for help - it just makes it harder to do what we want to (which is help).
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    I don't see why people censor their domains and IPs when they ask for help - it just makes it harder to do what we want to (which is help).
    In the case of the error message above, it doesn't matter if they censor the IP address / hostname or not as the issue is local. Regardless, as someone who spends most of their WHT time helping others with technical questions, very rarely do I find IP "censorship" to get in the way of troubleshooting.

    To the OP:

    What happens if you run dig yahoo.com from your server's shell prompt? Also, what do you have within /etc/resolv.conf for name servers?
    Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
    400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com

    www.HostingSecList.com - Security notices for the hosting community.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,498
    * Moved to Technical / Security Issues.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    50
    check /etc/resolv.conf you must be missing correct nameservers entries

Similar Threads

  1. Need RVsitebuilder
    By mitp1 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2009, 07:14 PM
  2. This is for all you "php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed:" sufferers
    By magneticmg in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-14-2008, 01:33 PM
  3. rvsitebuilder
    By jonson69 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2006, 04:00 AM
  4. php_network_getaddresses problem
    By Devil Inside in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 11:35 PM
  5. Warning: fsockopen(): php_network_getaddresses
    By UnrealSilence in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 12:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •