Question about Meta keywords

Hi,

I am very new to web hosting and search engine rankings; but as I search more on SEO and rankings, I am getting more confused.

Basically, some experts have argued that one of the main factors for search engine ranking is about the meta keywords, meta descriptons, and etc.

Now, if this is the case, what happened if I copy a website that's in the first position of the ranking? Technically, if I copy everything from that page, including the meta keywords and etc., the website I made would be at the top also. But is that the case?

Another argument which I saw the most is about "links". Although I don't doubt this linking system, there are billions of websites out there, how can a search engine go through that much websites and collect all the linking information?

Are there more factors in search engine ranking than the mentioned ones here?

I hope we can share some thoughts together.

You could technically do that, and still rank for some of the long tail SEO terms that article hits. However, chances are that the first place article will have a ton of backlinks to it. The search engine will know its the original document because it has the most links, and will likely be indexed long before you can get your duplicate page on there.

The search engines can do this because they have thousands of powerful servers crawling sites on any given day. The more popular the site, the more often it gets crawled.

So a site that is 2 years old and hasn't been updated in months, likely won't get crawled again for awhile or until new links are built to the old site.

If you build a backlink on a social networking site, say, Propeller, those links often get picked up within the hour. It is because Propeller is updated so frequently it knows that it should dedicated a bot to the site for constant crawling and updates.
    Download my eBook + Videos: Starting your own successful web hosting company.