Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Data Center Switch

    Would a consumer Gigabit switch work in the DC for sharing a connection with like 2-3 servers?

    Obviously, I am not looking for features like bandwidth control and other pluses from enterprise switches....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    426
    As long as you don't have a lot of packets you should be fine with 2-3 dedicated servers.

    But you can pickup used Cisco equipment for this purpose rather cheap.

  3. #3
    We use Linksys (Cisco) SRW2048 for our back end network. High port density with support for VLANs, and very cheap on ebay.
    Last edited by ExpressColo-TomW; 08-06-2009 at 06:41 PM. Reason: tyop
    ExpressHosting.net - Fast. Reliable. Affordable.
    Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Managed Cloud | AS53255

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by expresscolo View Post
    We use Linksys (Cisco) SRW2048 for our back end network. High port density with support for VLANs, and very cheap on ebay.
    I've had a few good reviews from customers about that switch also.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimension4 View Post
    As long as you don't have a lot of packets you should be fine with 2-3 dedicated servers.

    But you can pickup used Cisco equipment for this purpose rather cheap.
    I love cisco, but their one limitation for stuff like this is that they don't do gigabit ports on their lower end stuff. Unless you go with linksys.
    James Lumby

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,063
    The only time we didn't use a Cisco switch screwed us. I took a chance on a Dell Powerconnect 48 port 10/100 with 2 GE ports. I think we had about 17 servers on that switch. One being a SQL server. I installed it on Saturday night, by Monday 10 AM it locked up. We rebooted it twice that day before swapping it for a Cisco. Just my personal ordeal. I agree Dimension4, you should be fine with only a few servers. If you are doing iSCSI, I wouldn't go with anything consumer grade.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 03:47 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-17-2008, 01:16 AM
  3. SNMP monitoring software for switch ports in your data center
    By Serve By Design LLC in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 01:38 PM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-08-2003, 11:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •