Thread: Unmetered

Unmetered

I'm looking to purchase a dedicated server to use to resell web hosting space. I'm looking at WiredTree currently, and I see that 2TB monthly transfer and 10Mbps unmetered is the same price. I'm somewhat new to the idea of unmetered bandwidth. I can visualize and understand the quantity of 2TB of transfer, but I'm not able to really understand what 10Mbps would mean in real life terms.

I don't consider overselling any way to do business, I'd much rather underpromise and overdeliver than vis versa. The crux of my question here is, really, what sort of capability would that leave me with? It's easy to do the math for a monthly transfer rate and say xGB/month costs me y, and build plans around that. I'm not sure what 10Mbps really means though. Clearly I can't promise 5TB to 1500 users, but the other side is that I don't want to undersell my capability either. Can anyone enlighten me a bit here?

See the following quote to help you think of a clear number for the bandwidth. Please note I'm quoting this from another user that posted this 2 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by GHDpro View Post
    10Mbps unmetered = ~3TB/month = ~100Gb/day
    100Mbps = above values times 10

With 10Mbps unmetered your port will be limited to only 10Mbps though, so if you have a lot of people at peak times, this might cause your site to respond slowly. 10Mbps can only push about 1 Megabyte/sec, whereas 100Mbps can push 10x that.

100Mbps unmetered on the other hand is probably overkill though. If you value speed, I'd recommend buying more blocks of metered bandwidth until you really need 100Mbps unmetered.