Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 83
  1. #1

    What kind of internet connection do you have?

    I have DSL. Its not very fast compared to cable internet

    Do you have dial up, dsl, cable, satellite, t1, or some other connection?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7,200
    Cable up to 25mbps download.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    843
    Cable, I get around pretty good on this low-end package.

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/532186074.png
    My IP >> 127.0.0.1 Hack Away!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Darwin, Australia
    Posts
    1,333
    ADSL2 - 20mbps/1mbps
    Graham Craig

    "IT'S NOT HOW GOOD YOU ARE, IT'S HOW BAD YOU WANT IT."

  5. #5
    I have cable with 5 down, .5 up. I also can use my PDA phone as a modem, so I consider it a secondary connection.

    I would really love to have the verizon fios, but it isn't available in SC as far as I've read.
    Bobby - PreciselyManaged.com - Precision Hosting Solutions
    █ Enterprise Shared, Reseller, VPS, Hybrid, and Dedicated Hosting
    █ SpamExperts | CloudLinux | cPanel | Bacula + R1soft | and more!
    █ Full proactively managed, and we specialize in hosting small web hosts

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    109
    Verizon FiOS.

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/532273264.png

    Supposed to be getting 20mbps down, 5mbps up. Oh well.
    cPanelDesigns - High Quality & Mobile Ready cPanel Themes

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    26
    Rogers Cable with 10Mbps down 512Kbps up
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/532460694.png

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    8,944
    Sprint aircard -- mobile broadband -- for when I travel. Not the fastest by any means.

    -mike
    Mike G. - Limestone Networks - Account Specialist
    Cloud - Dedicated - Colocation - Premium Network - Passionate Support
    DDoS Protection Available - Reseller Program @LimestoneInc - 877.586.0555

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7,200
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike - Limestone View Post
    Sprint aircard -- mobile broadband -- for when I travel. Not the fastest by any means.

    -mike
    Hey, as long as it works!

  10. #10
    Home Connection - Upto 26 meg broadband

    Mobile Internet - for using in the airport, trains etc to check my emails if I leave my IPhone at home.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    89
    COX cable here =) Decent speeds, but DHCP issues once in a while.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    699
    Office - T1. It works well but the speed of a T1 sure isn't what it used to be

    I really enjoy the 100Mbps when I'm working in the datacenter
    Tranquil Hosting

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Here Today - Gone to Maui
    Posts
    6,262
    cable 5 down and up at home, DSL very slow at my salon and here - 100Mbps port
    ProlimeHost- Dedicated Server Hosting & KVM SSD VPS
    Three Datacenter Locations: Los Angeles, Denver & Singapore
    SuperMicro Hardware | Multiple Bandwidth Providers | 24/7 On Site Engineers

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Verizon FiOS

    Approx 25mbps symmetrical (which is insanely good):

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/513303795.png

    On the go it's either Sprint or AT&T 3G, which both average around 1-2mbps down, 200-300kbps up. Good enough for mobile use.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    Quote Originally Posted by TQ Mark View Post
    Office - T1. It works well but the speed of a T1 sure isn't what it used to be

    I really enjoy the 100Mbps when I'm working in the datacenter
    wish I had a 100mbps connection. any ideas how much that would cost for home lol? I can just imagine how much downloading I could get done a day.
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

  16. #16
    I have wireless, only 20mbps connection though [Supposedly..]

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Irvine, Ca
    Posts
    96

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    2,585
    We have 2 business DSL lines at work, it's very fast. I have the Ultimate cable package with cox. I'm able to download between 950KB/sec up to about 5.4MB/sec. Download is slow... maybe 540KB/sec
    www.JGRoboMarketing.com / We Filter out the Bad Leads and Send you the Good ones!
    █ Office: (800) 959-0182 / Automated Lead Funnel Service

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Milton keynes
    Posts
    212
    I have two DSL connections one is 2Mbps and other is 1Mbps

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    268
    15MB down 1UP here. I love the download speed, upload... meh...

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    State of Disbelief
    Posts
    22,948
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick67 View Post
    Cable, I get around pretty good on this low-end package.
    Low end? Dang...I have to pay extra to get 16.53 down and .48 up.
    *glares at RoadRunner
    Having problems, or maybe questions about WHT? Head over to the help desk!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    73
    Another one for Verizon FIOS. Can't complain, speed is always pretty good. Much better than our old DSL connection.
    -Bryce

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,063
    I really wish I could get FIOS, it's not available in Florida. I've got the stupid "virutal office" from brighthouse. Something like 6 Megs down and 768k up. It sucks. If I need to download or upload anything large, I take it to the data center. 100 Meg pipe and stuff goes quick!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sputnik's World
    Posts
    82
    I've got a dsl Servers package. It's not the fastest kid on the block, but it's very stable. Uptime is amazing. Their support sucks, but since we almost never need to use it, that's ok.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    1,138
    I have DSL. I want to get a T1 line but where I live they say its only for business like banks and schools, grr!
    We develop brand identity for the web.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Services ~ Custom Web Design, Branding & Identity, Development, Hosting & more!
    Portfolio ~ Websites, User Interfaces, Widgets & more!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by darkeden View Post
    wish I had a 100mbps connection. any ideas how much that would cost for home lol? I can just imagine how much downloading I could get done a day.
    Actually here on Long Island, Cablevision just started offering I believe its called "Optimum Ultra" - Rated at 101mbps down and 15mbps up - for I believe $100 a month. This would end up costing me just an extra $55 a month to upgrade from their standard package of 15/2

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by The-Pixel View Post
    I have DSL. I want to get a T1 line but where I live they say its only for business like banks and schools, grr!
    Why would you want a T1, your DSL is most likely a faster connection at a cheaper price. T1 is only 1.5Mbps up/down which is very slow.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tech Belt
    Posts
    7,802
    AT&T DSL - 5Mbps down / 512kbps up

    Works for me, I would love to get cable, but oh well its amazing how a phone line pumps this much data
    #---.#---###### | Host Mist LLC - Helping People Say Hello World™
    #---.#---#--#--# || Shared, Reseller, Master Reseller, VPS, Dedicated
    ####---#--#--# }| Featuring multiple locations across the US & Germany.
    #---#---#--#--# #| Connecting the world through web hosting.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456

    SPEED TEST

    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    is that your home computer lol? Wanna share some of that connection with me?

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/505675355.png

    My host told me they switched me to 8mb but I still get around 6
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    165
    Last edited by smajer; 08-06-2009 at 09:29 PM.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,249
    you guys are freakin lucky with those speeds im paying around 145 a month for mine
    Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    378
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/534279627.png - Not too bad...
    But.. my backup connection - http://www.speedtest.net/result/534280280.png - not so great.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,552
    Quote Originally Posted by timburke View Post
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/534279627.png - Not too bad...
    But.. my backup connection - http://www.speedtest.net/result/534280280.png - not so great.
    Your backup connection is slow, because it's SBC Global
    Jacob Wall - GetCloak.com

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    378
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Wall View Post
    Your backup connection is slow, because it's SBC Global
    It's supposed to be 6mbit

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,430
    I got ADSL2+ on 2 Mbps down and 512 Kbps up.

    Not the best, but the fastest in my country for unmetered traffic.

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    UK, Major Cities
    Posts
    499
    Im paying £22/mo from orange for a horrific connection. 0.1mbit down, and 0.05mbit up. It's slower than bloody dial up. Normally its faster, but I've never got it over 1mbit, and I'm meant to live in 'Central London'.

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/534567309.png
    - Colin Dunn | Systems Administrator
    I think CentOS is a pretty cool guy. eh runs mah server and doesnt afraid of anything...
    ^ That sig/meme is so old, I just don't have the heart to change it. I hope the cool kids around still get it... 2008 was a good year!

  38. #38
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    Quote Originally Posted by darkeden View Post
    is that your home computer lol? Wanna share some of that connection with me?

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/505675355.png

    My host told me they switched me to 8mb but I still get around 6
    It's my box racked in the datacenter via RDP.

    Quote Originally Posted by coduk View Post
    Im paying £22/mo from orange for a horrific connection. 0.1mbit down, and 0.05mbit up. It's slower than bloody dial up. Normally its faster, but I've never got it over 1mbit, and I'm meant to live in 'Central London'.

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/534567309.png
    Good god.. I might just cry if I get stuck on that.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Cleveland,Ohio...
    Posts
    416
    I had RR at 15down with supper boost but had to get rid of it because when it got late to many people were on at the same time hogging it up.SO now im back on DSL at 10 down.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    249
    speedtest.net/result/535252477.png

    Not too bad, most of the time on the speakeasy test I get higher than that.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What kind of connection speed?
    By chackboom in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-04-2006, 08:42 PM
  2. What kind of connection is this site using?
    By best4service in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-23-2005, 09:49 PM
  3. What kind of internet connection do I need to run a hosting server?
    By cmpolis in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 08:41 AM
  4. Whats the best kind of connection u can get?
    By John L in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-17-2004, 03:00 PM
  5. What kind of connection do u have?
    By jhcashman in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 72
    Last Post: 04-08-2004, 08:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •