Domain Transfer Fees

I have a client of a client who purchased their domain from an unmentionable web host (banned here on WHT (here's a hint: globe @) and they will not give him the transfer code to transfer the domain unless he pays $25 dollars.

Is this within ICANN's rules? I've tried to search ICANN's site, but it's not exactly user friendly and I'm NO expert on domains. This company uses Enom as their registrar.

I advised the client to tell his client to contact ENOM immediately as the domain expires today.

According to the TOS of this web host, the domain will be released after 40 days, but the odds of getting it back after that time is not favorable in my experience as many cybersquaters grab up these domains.

Any suggestions? Anyone know what the policy is on losing registrars charging fees to release transfer code?

Thanks!
    hostingDifferent---We're hostingDifferent.
    Premium, Managed and DIY WordPress hosting DONE RIGHT.
    Find out what SERVICE really means!--We're hostingDifferent.

I got the code for 2 domains at that company about a week ago, they were registered in "d.are.f" website, i was afraid they wouldn't release them so i asked for unlock and transfer code just 2 months after registration, to have enough time to fight for them.

I was lucky and they released the codes and unlocked the domains.

If i were you i would contact enom asap, use the phone if needed, enom can move the domains to another reseller account, i also suggest you to enter access.enom.com with the account password at that company, it worked for me.
    access.enom.com will not give you auth code but you will be able to edit whois info, in some cases domains are registered in that company's name instead of customer's name.
    Mousa: [as Rambo prepares to play Afghan game 'buzkashi'] God must love crazy people.
    Rambo: [getting on horse] Why?
    Mousa: He make so many of them!

Thanks for the tips. I'll pass it along.