Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Same domain and nameservers, two servers

    Hi there.

    I've searched google and WHT about this but I couldn't find anything matching my situation. Apologies if I overlooked something.

    Here's my situation:

    I have two VPS packages.
    Both are running exactly the same stuff - Centos 5.3, cPanel/WHM, etc
    One domain (, already pointing to first server (server1)
    Nameservers (ns1 & are set up in WHM of server1.

    I then bought a second VPS (server2). I want to be able to set up subdomains of my main domain ( on the second VPS. I also want my existing nameservers to work for server2.

    This way, I can provide subdomain packages to people and utilise both servers, and I can also provide the same nameservers to people regardless of the server they are on.

    I went to the clustering section of the WHM's, I enabled, and I can see server1 in the WHM of server2, and the other way around. I selected Sync Changes under DNS Role. However I don't think that's really done anything.

    So what am I missing? How can I get this to work? Sorry if I've written it in a confusing manner .

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    So you want on server 1 and on server 2 right ?

  3. #3 is a site hosted on server1. I want to be able to have on both servers. See, I offer sub domain hosting, so I want to be able to use both servers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Eta Carinae
    just create the account first then set up an a-record for for the subdomain on server1 and point it to where ever the account may be hosted.

  5. #5
    Well I'd rather it'd be automatic. I use WHMCS, so it would be a hassle to have to do it manually. Maybe it would be better to have different nameservers for each VPS. Thanks for the help though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Eta Carinae
    then you'd need an external script that will do that for you because - WHMCS can definitely make the account with the subdomain but it won't be able to create the a-record for your main domain which will render the subdomain account useless.

  7. #7
    Alright I'll look into that, thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Same domain/nameservers, different servers?
    By allspiritseve in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-06-2008, 04:17 PM
  2. nameservers and main domain point to the same domain?
    By yazansaleh in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 01:56 AM
  3. Domain Nameservers Pointing at 2 Servers
    By Syphic in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 12:37 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 04:23 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-29-2005, 11:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts