Various Questions (do I need a host)

Hi all,..total noob here....so go easy on me

So I built this new fancy website, using Tomcat/Mysql. Now I need to figure out how to 'get it out there'.

The way I see it my options are as follows:

1) Host it myself (for now over my personal dsl line)
    - Limitation: how do I get A Real Certificate for ssl logins? (now if I enable my 'test' cert..the ssl logins get the nasty unknown cert warning...)
    - I do not want to manage my own email server...any tips for finding a basic email server hosting service. (mainly used for [email protected], and outgoing messages.)

2) Find a Hosting Service:
    - well need find one that is 'cheap' and meets my requirements (bandwidth..likely negligible to start with):
    Tomcat 6+
    MySql 5+
    Email Server Hostings
    SSL/Certs
    - Here I will need to decide on shared VM or not, Dedicated Hardware/not..all thing equal to keep cheap think I will initially stand alone VM, shared hardware.

3) Use something like Amazon's E3 (will still need an email Hosting Company as I don't want to deal with this).

NOTE: In either case I suspect I will need to buy a Cert for my website..and if so..from whom, looking at verisign...a 1 year cert will run $400!? or hosting services provide the cert for free?

One way I view the above options:
    Host myself (fine for the near term), however as load picks up (hopefully), move to option 2.

If load continues to sky rocket, move to option 3, or other..

Anyways any thoughts? Tips I should consider?

and..I apologize for the grammar/typos in advance.

If your site needs ssl then you really should not be hosting it yourself unless you know what you're doing with respect to other security issues.

Start with a good quality shared plan. You can always move when you grow.