hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : All mail marked as spam by Google and Yahoo
Reply

Dedicated Server Current and past experiences with dedicated server providers, bandwidth, and server performance. Review managed and unmanaged dedicated web servers, discuss both Windows and Unix dedicated server solutions, and discuss dedicated hosting providers. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

All mail marked as spam by Google and Yahoo

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2009, 01:26 PM
[JSH]John [JSH]John is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 486

All mail marked as spam by Google and Yahoo


I'm having a problem where pretty much every email sent out of the server to Google or Yahoo, is being marked as spam. I've followed their guidelines such as adding an SPF record, but emails still go direct to the spam box.

This is causing problems for not only me but also my customers.

Can anyone suggest a few things that could be done to help prevent this happening? It's also happening to VPS nodes in the same datacentre (OVH). I don't think this was happening when I had the servers with another provider.

__________________
JSHosts - UK Web Hosting
Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | OpenVZ VPS | Xen VPS
cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | CloudFlare | R1Soft Backups


Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:31 PM
lemeneid lemeneid is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 254
It is possible that your IPs are being blacklisted. Check some blacklist databases to see.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:43 PM
mariushm mariushm is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 847
Also make sure you have Reverse DNS set correctly for your IP.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:21 PM
[JSH]John [JSH]John is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 486
Thank you for the responses, the IPs don't appear to be blacklisted anywhere and rDNS is set up correctly.

__________________
JSHosts - UK Web Hosting
Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | OpenVZ VPS | Xen VPS
cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | CloudFlare | R1Soft Backups


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2009, 03:49 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028
John,

Are you getting any bounceback messages that would include the proper error code? Yahoo should be sending these I believe. Not sure about Google.

We had the same issue a few months ago and we had it taken care of within a week. I guess it depends on what error code you have.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:41 PM
Odisha-Hosting Odisha-Hosting is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 56
Hello John,

This is not uncommon in case of yahoo. For that you need to contact abuse-admin@cc.yahoo-inc.com so that they can send you form to fill with required information and they can help you out with putting your server's IP address in their white list.

It has solved few of our inhouse server's problem. But they won't guarantee you to stop the spam filtering 100%. Good luck.

__________________
Managed Virtuozzo VPS | Reseller Hosting
http://www.odishahosting.com [ USA Datacenter]
http://www.odishahosting.in [ INDIA Datacetner]
sales@odishahosting.com | 1-732-253-0169 ( sales)

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:10 PM
Vinayak_Sharma Vinayak_Sharma is online now
Always Learning...
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bharat
Posts: 4,572
Hello John,

As you have mentioned that you have checked SPF, rDNS and IP blacklist etc. Still I will suggest to check your IP at following two places:

http://www.myiptest.com/staticpages/...isted-IP-DNSBL
http://www.kloth.net/services/dnsbl.php

If no red marks are their, then validate your SPF at http://www.kitterman.com/spf/validate.html and rDNS at http://relays.osirusoft.com/cgi-bin/rdns.cgi

Also check the reputation of your IP and network at http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queries/rep_lookup

Finally for yahoo, read this:
http://www.smartertools.com/forums/p/13531/30555.aspx

Hopefully you will be able to fix your problem.

__________________
Vinsar.Net - Quality Web Hosting at Economical Price on USA, UK & Italian Servers
Offering domains, shared, reseller & VPS hosting.
Reliable Domain Reseller Account Resell Domains with Confidence

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:10 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:35 PM
woods01 woods01 is offline
relax, im a professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,277
Im very interested to hear if you resolve the gmail issue. Yahoo will talk to you. gmail on the other hand to all I have seen could care less if your mail goes to their spam folders or not.

__________________
James Paul Woods
Operations Manager
HostKitty Internet Services

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:00 PM
mehboobashraf mehboobashraf is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 723
Check your ip in all the blacklist database. The only reason these companies will block you if they feel that your IP is in the black list.

If your server has more than 1 ip why not trying to change the ip?

__________________
ServerStadium - ★★ Cheapest Budget Servers ★★ - We only Sell to Dedicated Server Resellers
█ ★ ColoinSeattle Datacenter (West Coast)Best Ping From Asia
Web : http://www.serverstadium.comContact Us

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:30 PM
Mekhu Mekhu is offline
Evenly Divided
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by mehboobashraf View Post
Check your ip in all the blacklist database. The only reason these companies will block you if they feel that your IP is in the black list.

If your server has more than 1 ip why not trying to change the ip?
That's actually not true. Volume can also get you blacklisted.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:05 AM
[JSH]John [JSH]John is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 486
SPF test passed and the IPs affected aren't showing on any blacklists (just checked again now on those sites).

I'll contact Yahoo to see if they can assist with their problem, as for Google I guess it'll eventually stop going to junk mail.

Thanks for all the replies.

__________________
JSHosts - UK Web Hosting
Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | OpenVZ VPS | Xen VPS
cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | CloudFlare | R1Soft Backups


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-30-2009, 03:36 AM
markhard markhard is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 740
does this emails sent by php script or by using email client? most of email sent by php script mail() function will goes to junk/spam folder as it doesn't have proper mail header, some times this is the cause.

__________________
HalfDedi.com • Half Dedicated Half Price
We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-30-2009, 04:49 AM
LENOVOhost LENOVOhost is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 115
Hi

I am having the same problem But my IP got listed in SORBS How i can delist from SORBS ?

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:03 AM
[JSH]John [JSH]John is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 486
This happens when using RoundCube webmail, Thunderbird and Outlook.

jegavelan, read here for delisting from SORBS: http://www.au.sorbs.net/overview.shtml

__________________
JSHosts - UK Web Hosting
Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | OpenVZ VPS | Xen VPS
cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | CloudFlare | R1Soft Backups


Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-Mail submitted by a php form from my dedicated server marked as spam by google. werushka Hosting Security and Technology 21 04-30-2009 07:39 PM
Issues sending mail to Yahoo, and mail getting marked as spam, Whats a good solution? webuser00 Hosting Security and Technology 7 11-06-2008 11:24 AM
All mail going to Yahoo! Spam Box.. ideas? absolutenetwork Hosting Security and Technology 4 09-18-2008 09:23 AM
PHP (Mail) Marked As Spam Yahoo/Msn funmaza Hosting Security and Technology 3 02-24-2008 03:24 AM
PHP's Mail(); Function, Can this NOT be auto marked as spam?! DiverseFlow Programming Discussion 6 04-05-2005 02:44 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Spammy Hosting Clients Won't Affect Your Site Ranking: Google Blog 2013-04-10 13:36:07
Yahoo Integrates Email Client with Dropbox Cloud Storage Web Hosting News 2013-04-04 14:31:40
Email Security Firm eleven Finds Drive-By Malware on the Rise Web Hosting News 2012-10-18 13:21:25
eleven Email Security Report Finds Decrease in US Spam Web Hosting News 2011-06-16 19:17:06
Google Confirms it can Ban All Sites on a Hosted Server Blog 2011-05-27 17:35:52


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?