Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    iDRAC6 Enterprise


    I'm about to purchase several Dell R610 and R710 servers. Has anyone experience with iDRAC6 Enterprise? Is it worth the extra $349/server or would you recommend another KVM IP solution?



  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Philadelphia, PA
    Very similar to the Drac5 for the PE1950/2500

    KVM/Reboot & Virtual Media.
    Database By Design, LLC
    Premium Dedicated Server Hosting, Complex Hosting Solutions and Private Cloud.
    12Gbps SAS is Here!
    866.488.7770 | Contact Us |

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    No, go and buy some HP Proliants they have iLo which is much better.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Reston, VA

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudstr View Post
    We enjoy the new idracs. They work very well with zero problems. If you have a good dell rep the idrac 6 enterprise is only a ~60 upgrade not 350.
    Thanks, just called them and they are giving pretty good discounts: The servers we priced at $2900/piece they discounted to $2050/piece

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Coxsackie, NY
    The new Drac's play better with more browsers. Also if you get the Enterprise version they have flash memory on them to load what you will.

    The new DRAC's also have more server management tools built on without the need for an OS on the machine or the Server management application installed.

    IMO if you go Dell you should always add these. Same thing with any company. HP, Supermicro, IBM
    Jonathan VanSchaack
    Managing Director
    Remly Communications - Total Web Solutions
    Web Hosting, Dedicated Servers, Boston Colocation, Reseller Hosting, VDS/VPS, Web Design, and Full Server Management

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Definitely go with the iDrac6 Enterprise cards, depending on your Dell rep you should be able to get a good deal for the upgrade and/or the total price for your server. You can also use the iDrac6 card to monitor third party hardware on your network and/or software services if you purchase the additional licensing (Altiris client management licenses).

Similar Threads

  1. Enterprise Digital????
    By Fuddy Duddy in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2007, 03:18 PM
  2. Billing for Enterprise
    By alexeys in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 07:24 PM
  3. Which Enterprise LINUX OS?
    By EuroVPS/Director in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 05:01 AM
  4. ColdFusion 5 Enterprise
    By hypersite in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2004, 11:05 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 10:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts