How do hosts offer these prices?

I am new to to the webhosting business, but not new to the technology. I have designed and operated websites for small and large companies. I was offered a chance to design a small site for a local company and they asked about hosting. I took this as a opportunity to get into the business. I researched the busisess, developed a plan, and chose a bandwidth and server provider I felt would be in business for the long run, and could best support me and my client(s).

I feel that I have priced my services fair and plan to make servcie and support priority over high profits. Which brings me back to my main question. How do some of these vendors offer the space and bandwidth for the prices that they do?

Sorry for the length.
    Best Regards,
    Secure Reliable Low Cost Hosting Solutions
    http://SRLHosting.com

Volume. Thier plans are based on a high volume model. That, and they have other jobs, cheap dedicated servers, etc.

Personally I think you're on the right track. Build a reasonable profit base, one that will sustain you and your operation so you can concentrate on service. In the long run you'll win out.

Good luck.

Aaron
    Aaron Wendel
    Wholesale Internet, Inc. - http://www.wholesaleinternet.net
    Kansas City Internet eXchange - http://www.kcix.net

Overselling resources, cheap providers, and understaffing are some of the ways. I'm not saying everyone here does that so don't flame me. They have some solid providers here.

As for volume, I read a quote from a Harvard School of Business professor that basically said (paraphrasing), "you can not make up for small margins with volume". The short version of his explanation was small margins that can not produce a profitable company in the smaller stages will inherently not be able to sustain a profitable company with many many more customers.