Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15

    Rack Space required in GlobalSwitch 1 or 2

    Hi,

    We are an established owner of three data centres outside of London. We are looking at either a half or full lockable rack in either Global Switch 1 or 2 (ideally with 24/7 managed hands) in order to terminate a backhaul circuit there.

    We are also interested in a similar arrangement in TH-E.

    We only require around 2 amps as the space will only house an edge router and switch for inter/cross connects.

    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    Any help with this would be appreciated.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    314
    Do you have a price bracket / budget in mind?
    What are the exact hardware specs / models you will be wanting housed? I presume you would be looking to get access to the DC - or would you require remote staff to do the installation / setup / wiring as per your requirements?

    In GS-2, the minimum purchase is 5 AMPS per cabinet, charged at about £150 (inc. VAT) per AMP / Month, then you'd be looking at the rack setup fee and b/w charges depending on the traffic type / shape, volume, etc.

    TH-E = ?
    Last edited by intellitech; 08-01-2009 at 04:55 AM.
    Intellitech I.T. Solutions Ltd.
    Intellitech Hosting - Dedicated Servers in Atlanta, Tampa, Dallas, Washington, Seattle (USA), London (UK) & EU
    Server Load Balancing, Hardware Firewalls, MPLS Connectivity

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    Hi,

    Thanks for replying.

    We do not have a set budget in Mind. We have been quoted direct from GS but need the remote hands just for emergencies and it also seems a bit overkill to have a full rack/4.63 amps just for this small amount of equipment. We have existing arrangements in other data centres where we have taken a half rack from a 3rd party provider and this has worked very well. In one instance the deal was in return for rack space in one of our own data centres for DR but we are happy to pay for this.

    We would initially house a 7206 VXR NPE-G2 with a 3750 and a console server. This is a 1Gbs backhaul from one of our own data centres in Bletchley but ultimately will have up to 10Gbs (obviously not with the 7200).

    Our own Cisco technicians will do the setup/commissioning and termination of the backhaul circuit is already arranged. We also already have transit arrangements in place.

    Note that this is one of several gateways already in place so 24/7 is not essential but would be preferred.

    TH-E = “Telehouse – East”

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    289
    Is the GlobalSwitch building requirement flexible atall? As far as I'm aware, both GS sites tend to be geared towards larger suite/cage deployments rather than individual racks or part racks
    Technical Director, M247

    Premium web and Internet infrastructure services from M247.com
    M247 is actively buying Helm3 customer base - cash waiting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    Thank you for the rpely.

    These circuits need to be either GS1/2 or TH-E only.

    We have a number of proposals for single racks already including GS direct but we are looking for the right match/combination.

    Note that we have some additional circuits planned for later this year that will need a similar arrangement if you have an opportunity in another DC so it is still worth letting us know.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,641
    Thread cleaned. Lets remember folks, self-promotion is not allowed outside of the offers area of the forums. Its ok to ask for suggestions but its not ok to make offers or ask for offers here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    We agree.

    Our identity has remained anonymous (not even a signature) and we have not included any information that can be used to contact us direct (only via the forum) as our only interest is in the above request.

    We are however very grateful for the replies to date.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    1
    hi all sorry. i belived that this site was for helping people get together and find a reliable cost effective package..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    15
    Thank you for the reply anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Shelf space instead of rack space?
    By dontknownutn in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2005, 08:04 PM
  2. 11U Rack Space - TeleCity
    By pcaidit in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-03-2005, 07:17 AM
  3. $13,500 / mo for rack space????
    By xamomike in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 02-12-2005, 09:19 AM
  4. Discount on Rack space
    By Noel27 in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2002, 05:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •