Is a dedicated server someting for me?

I'm considering signing up for a dedicated server to host a free message board service and some other sites on. But I'm a newbie so I don't know anything about maintaining a server. So what I'm really looking for is a dedicated server, but with the ease of a shared web hosting service. So this means:
    - everything is already installed and just waiting for me
    - only thing that I have to do is upload the files
    - when there is any problem, all I need to do is e-mail support

Are there any sites out there that provides this service? Is this what they mean by "managed dedicated server"?

Yes, you are looking for a managed dedicated server. But ask every single company what exactly they mean by "managed" as there are big differences...

Yes a managed server is best for you, but can be expensive. If you must go with an unmanaged server, I would suggest you also take cpanel as it makes things a lot easier. In the meantime read up!

Ok, I said I was a newbie. By that I mean I've never been in contact with Linux before, nor have I experimented with installing Php, MySQl or Perl on a computer/server.

But do I need to do all these things to maintain an unmanaged server? What are the requirements in order to maintain an unmanaged server?

Vienna, Austria
    you'll probably want to look into a good virtual dedicated system (VDS). most of the time, you have root access, everything is installed for you, the host manages it and you're only on the box with a few other resellers or people who just have sites that need more power than a normal virual account

also, you'll save a bit of $$ going this route as well.

Pros of dedicated:
    - Lots of capacity
    - Nobody else's traffic takes your site down
    - You won't be taken down by your ISP if your traffic surges enough to compromise the box
    - Lots of control to customize the box
    - Multiple domains