Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009

    * copy files from raid5's HD to raid5's HD?


    i get a urgent issue,could you please give me some help?

    i use Adaptec 2200s with three scsi HD to do raid,

    it is install centos with cpanel.

    after rebooting,it can not load into the raid5 well,

    and shows no logical drivers... and no operation system found.

    i try to add new hd,but it still do not build and run.

    i think it may the raid5 configuation on the three HDs are missing are ger problem or it will not work at all.

    i want to ask,if a use another three hds with the Adaptec 2200s to set another raid5.

    and build another one server.

    and i mount the old first one HD from the old raid5 and mount the new first one HD from the new raid5,

    and copy the files from old ones to the new ones.

    will it be ok?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Indiana, USA
    It's really hard to tell what the issue is based upon your post - could you give a more detailed explanation of your issue?
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Houston, Texas, USA
    It's possible your RAID-5 array was running in degraded mode before the second hard drive crashed leaving you with only one hard drive, which I'm afraid means data is lost. That's why replacing the two hard drives will rebuild but it would not load the OS or rebuild the array as it was prior to the reboot/crash (no logical drive).

    Do you have backups (you saw this question coming)? That might be the only way to recover your data.

    Last edited by UNIXy; 07-21-2009 at 11:42 PM.
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe >

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Austin Tx
    if you only had 1 drive crash, and you rebuild the array *exactly* as it was before (same drives, same position, same configuration), you may recover the data if the containers are brought back exactly as they were, and it finds the 1 new drive and starts rebuilding it. I have successfully "got lucky" this way before. I've also lost all data in different situations. Other than that, yep, backups may be your only other option. If you actually lost 2, and had no hot spare, you can hang it up.
    This is the best signature in the world....Tribute!
    (It is not the best signature in the world, no. This is just a tribute)

Similar Threads

  1. Copy + Paste Files?
    By circuscircus in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2007, 05:58 AM
  2. copy dot files
    By HD Fanatic in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2007, 12:44 AM
  3. Copy files on SSH
    By jpayam in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 06:04 AM
  4. how do I copy files from one drive to another?
    By jireh in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-24-2004, 04:18 PM
  5. Auto Copy Files
    By Rochen in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-28-2002, 09:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts