Thread: Am I Off Base?

Smile Am I Off Base?

I have been an IT professional for 12 years. I have been running a dozen affiliate sites and blogs for about 6 years. All are hosted on a reseller plan and all are honest interest websites. I make a few dollars but want to make more.

My thinking is to offer hosting and design for small businesses. The type of personal (hand holding) service where I buy the domain, setup the site, install blogs, change or modify themes etc.

I am a one man shop. Is there enough of a need that I would be able to make sustainable PT or FT income?

Thanks
    Doug

Doug, there is a lot of room and need for this kind of hosting especially for small businesses. You should be able to start off locally competitively for anywhere from $20 - $50/month, if not more depending on what you are offering in your hosting bundle.

Well I believe with any business as long as you have solid goals and ideas you can make it a success. There is always going to be web hosting and web design companies all over the world. The idea is to obtain an edge or an insight that other companies do not offer or have. This will allow for you to generate more clients an increase sales.

Make sure you have the skills in both business, design, and web related issues to successfully provide services to the clients and if you do not know a certain area make sure you obtain solid information or hire someone on the side - 'per' hour bases to assist you. I wish you all the best and I'm sure we will see great things from you.
    We develop brand identity for the web.
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Services ~ Custom Web Design, Branding & Identity, Development, Hosting & more!
    Portfolio ~ Websites, User Interfaces, Widgets & more!