Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Australia, Adelaide
    Posts
    132

    Changing IP address without rebooting, not working...

    Hi,

    I have been trying to change an IP address on a customers Linux(RH9) server and I am getting errors, Can some on point/push me in the correct direction.
    I am editing /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and am getting this message,

    "1. Quit editing this file, because another edit session is active on this file.Continuing to edit will result in two versions of the same file. The one that is written last will overwrite the other one, resulting in loss of changes. The text "ifcfg-eth0" indicates that the process
    editing this file runs on the same computer. When working over a network you will not see this message, because the process will be running on another computer.
    2. Recover a previously crashed edit session."

    This is a stand alone server and noone else uses this server.

    I have tried to use the vim rercover command but no luck.
    I am more use to using pico than vi, but pico is not installed.

    Can someone please help??


    Thanks.
    Ezywebhosting.com *10 years in the hosting industry *
    ►►Shared and Reseller Hosting ● Cpanel / Fantastico DeLuxe / Softaculous
    ►►99.99% Up-time Guarantee ● 24*7 Support ● 30 Days Money Back Guarantee
    Servers in Australia and USA, See Us At www.ezywebhosting.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    42
    You could do "ps ax|grep vi" to see if any other vi processes are actually open. There could just be a stale lock file. Is nano installed? RH9 is quite an old OS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SLASH ROOT
    Posts
    853
    If there is an open session for the file, you will see a swap file in the following format.

    .filename.swp

    Say if you have unclosed file "/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0", you will see a file "/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/.ifcfg-eth0.swp".

    Remove this swap file or open this file in recovery mode.

    vi -r filename

    Not related to the above issue, but I thought I should point this too.

    It seems like you are changing the main IP of the server. Make sure your NOC has set the proper routes for the new IP.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Australia, Adelaide
    Posts
    132
    I couldnt see the swap file and I have tried vi -r command and still nothing, thinking that it might have been hidden..
    Ezywebhosting.com *10 years in the hosting industry *
    ►►Shared and Reseller Hosting ● Cpanel / Fantastico DeLuxe / Softaculous
    ►►99.99% Up-time Guarantee ● 24*7 Support ● 30 Days Money Back Guarantee
    Servers in Australia and USA, See Us At www.ezywebhosting.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SLASH ROOT
    Posts
    853

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    31
    #rm -f /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/.ifcfg-eth0.swp
    #vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

    this should fixed your issue
    Wowtutorial.org | IT Server Tutorials For Dummies

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Australia, Adelaide
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by eeg3 View Post
    You could do "ps ax|grep vi" to see if any other vi processes are actually open. There could just be a stale lock file. Is nano installed? RH9 is quite an old OS.
    I have a few processes running, how do I stop them??
    3446 tty1 T 0:00 vi cfcfg-rth0
    3448 tty1 T 0:00 vi cfcfg-eth0
    3453 tty1 T 0:00 vi cfcfg-eth0
    3460 tty1 T 0:00 vi cfcfg-eth0
    3465 tty1 T 0:00 vi cfcfg-eth0
    466 tty1 T 0:00 vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/icfcfg-eth0
    505 tty1 S 0:00 grep vi


    Quote Originally Posted by Sentono View Post
    #rm -f /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/.ifcfg-eth0.swp
    #vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

    this should fixed your issue
    I have tried this and still no luck...
    Thanks..
    Last edited by Dawizz; 07-17-2009 at 12:43 AM.
    Ezywebhosting.com *10 years in the hosting industry *
    ►►Shared and Reseller Hosting ● Cpanel / Fantastico DeLuxe / Softaculous
    ►►99.99% Up-time Guarantee ● 24*7 Support ● 30 Days Money Back Guarantee
    Servers in Australia and USA, See Us At www.ezywebhosting.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SLASH ROOT
    Posts
    853

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,446
    After you kill those vi sessions, it should clear up. Unless someone else has the file open with some other application.
    FiberPeer.Com | | REAL DDoS Protection | Cloud Hosting | VPS | Dedicated Servers | High Bandwidth Hosting | 1Gbps-10Gbps Unmetered
    FiberPeer DDoS Mitigation | ethProxy Upgraded! | 14-Years Experience | Emergency 24/7 Support
    Visit us @ www.fiberpeer.com

Similar Threads

  1. URL redirection without changing the address in the address bar
    By prashant1979 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 12:45 PM
  2. A Little Confusion Over Changing IP Address
    By Bkholla in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2007, 10:57 PM
  3. Changing server IP address
    By MrJedi in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 10:45 PM
  4. changing ip address
    By anurva-Mehul in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 11:07 PM
  5. Server not working proprely (not rebooting and etc...)
    By BudWay in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 06:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •