Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Would this be hard?

    Hey there,

    I currently have a VPS, and it's going well. I've been offered another at a bargain price, so I'm going to buy that as well. I'm wanting to spread my services across two vps'.Here's what the set up would be:

    VPS 1 - 1.5GB RAM, 150GB Space, 600GB bandwidth
    - Used for: Master reseller accounts, Shoutcast hosting

    VPS 2 - 3GB RAM, 170GB Space, 700GB Bandwidth
    - Used for: shared hosting, reseller hosting

    A WHMCS licence installed on VPS 2. Main website/forum would be on VPS 2.

    Now, I was thinking that all I'd have to do was add another server in WHMCS. Is it really as simple as that? Or is there more to it? I know there are clustering options in WHM, I'm not sure if I really have to use them though.

    And, if there's a lot of extra space on one of them, would it be feasible to make another partition and use it as a backup partition for both servers? Or would it be better to get a cheap unmanaged server for 10-20 from somewhere like or


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    In the Internets
    You can add the server in WHM and start using it for different products, however 1.5GB isn't much for a hosting box.
    StableHost .:. Unlimited web hosting done right. Experience the unlimited difference.
    PingThat .:. Is your website down? Find out now with our QuickChecker technology.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    New York
    Quote Originally Posted by EditDNS-Tyler View Post
    You can add the server in WHM and start using it for different products, however 1.5GB isn't much for a hosting box.
    Agreed - you need to upgrade your RAM - Hosting websites since 1999!
    Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
    End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller Available on Reseller Plans!
    Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost

  4. #4
    Hmm, I was under the impression 1.5GB would cut it. Another GB maybe?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Tampa, Florida
    personally i would do like what was suggested as most come with at least 2GB as a good start or even 3GB as well. Upgrade RAM, and yes making a backup on one of them that has the most room is a good idea in case that one crashes you can restore them quickly with little downtime. - Shoutcast Streams & Web Hosting
    █ Custom Streams Available - Contact me - We're in Second Life Too!
    Real Quality - Real Support - Real Affordable since 2008!

Similar Threads

  1. How to transfer data from hard drive to hard drive in Linux?
    By wifiguru in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 04:02 PM
  2. Would this be hard to do?
    By coralnutz in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2006, 07:36 AM
  3. A little Help, Nothing Hard
    By oelysiumo in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 02:51 AM
  4. Backup Hard Drive to Hard Drive
    By TheRealDeal in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2002, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts