Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    How to delete databases or reset cPanel

    Hello everyone.

    I've been running a forum for a while now which of course had a database. Now I sold the vBulletin License and I'd like to delete the database that was created for it. How do I do that?

    I've looked throught cPanel, but couldn't find an option on deleting a whole database. Might be looking in the wrong sections or something. Can someone help me out?

    It would be even better if it is possible to reset my whole server throught cPanel. Is this possible?

    Thanks already.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Near You..
    Posts
    81
    You could delete the database through cPanel > Databases > MySQL databases > "Undert Current Databases you have an option to delete the database".

    Also you could drop a mysql database using phpmyadmin.
    Last edited by timelead129; 07-09-2009 at 12:18 PM.

  3. #3
    There is no MySQL databases in my cPanel. There is:
    MySQL Database Wizard
    MySQL Database Create
    Remote MySQL Access
    MySQL MyAdmin

    I tried the last one but couldn't find a delete option there..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kerala, India
    Posts
    4,750
    Is the database name and db username you are using in the following format?

    Assuming your cpanel username is "user1".

    user1_dbname
    user1_dbusername

    If they are not in this format, it will not list in your cpanel mysql section.
    David | www.cliffsupport.com
    Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
    CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by david510 View Post
    Is the database name and db username you are using in the following format?

    Assuming your cpanel username is "user1".

    user1_dbname
    user1_dbusername

    If they are not in this format, it will not list in your cpanel mysql section.
    Well I have to on the left
    user1_forumname
    information_schema

    I don't know what the last one is, maybe something that for vBulletin also?
    Anyway when I choose one, I can't seem to find a delete option.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    714
    You should be able to find it within PhpMyAdmin, that's an option within your cPanel. Let us know what you find.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by NXH-Mark View Post
    You should be able to find it within PhpMyAdmin, that's an option within your cPanel. Let us know what you find.
    Yes, in PhpMyAdmin I see two databases on the left: user1_forumname and information_schema.

    I can click on them and then I get a whole list with things like: acces, adminhelp, adminlog, album, announcement etc.

    I can delete each of them but I can't delete the whole database itself..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    714
    Quote Originally Posted by Stiff View Post
    Yes, in PhpMyAdmin I see two databases on the left: user1_forumname and information_schema.

    I can click on them and then I get a whole list with things like: acces, adminhelp, adminlog, album, announcement etc.

    I can delete each of them but I can't delete the whole database itself..
    Firstly go to PhpMyAdmin, DON'T click on any database but instead look for 'Databases' (In the main content area). Then select the database you want to delete and there is a small icon which is a red X. You can press this to delete the database.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by NXH-Mark View Post
    Firstly go to PhpMyAdmin, DON'T click on any database but instead look for 'Databases' (In the main content area). Then select the database you want to delete and there is a small icon which is a red X. You can press this to delete the database.
    Ok, so I clicked on "databases". Got to a new page with both of the databases listed, though there is no way to select them and I don't see any red X. I can click on the databases though. But when I do I come to the same list I just talked about.

    Another thing when I wen't to "databases", I did saw an option "Make New Database". But underneath it said: No rights. Could it be that I don't have the rights to delete the database? If so how do I fix this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Kerala, India
    Posts
    4,750
    Will not your host delete the DB for you?
    David | www.cliffsupport.com
    Affordable Server Management Solutions sales AT cliffsupport DOT com
    CliffWebManager | Access WHM from iPhone and Android

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    714
    Quote Originally Posted by david510 View Post
    Will not your host delete the DB for you?
    Yes this is probably your best option, who are you hosted with?

Similar Threads

  1. How do I reset cPanel account?
    By JumptoMedia in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-30-2006, 05:31 AM
  2. Reset cPanel/WHM
    By CCF Hosting in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 12:41 AM
  3. cPanel... need to reset password...
    By HopelessLose in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 03:17 PM
  4. Does anyone know how to reset accounts in CPANEL?
    By huynhk in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2003, 11:09 AM
  5. Frontserve Delete My Files And Databases
    By AdrenalaN in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2001, 04:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •