Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    How do i know the amount of ram allocated to me

    Hello,
    How do i know the amount of ram allocated to me?
    How will i know if my account is allocated with the ram i bought.
    How will i know if my host is over selling??
    My sites are going down frequently, I have to restart apache to get them back.I checked the cpu and memory usage logs on whm, and they are well with in limits.

    But my hosting support fellow is saying other wise.
    Our logs indicate that from time to time your VPS is going above the RAM Guarantee, this puts your services in danger of going offline until the RAM usage is back under the guarantee. If you continue to see these problems, we recommend either reducing the RAM usage by disabling any unused services, purchasing a guaranteed RAM upgrade, or upgrading to the next plan, to help alleviate the problem.
    Is this sites going down a common thing??
    Im new to vps, any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    You should be able to see some kind of stats for your site, and see if you do indeed need more RAM. This could very well be the issue.
    NETRACKSERVERS
    W -http://www.netrackservers.com
    E -mike.domingos @ netrackservers.com
    Twitter -http://www.twitter.com/NETRACKservers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    604
    You can type the following command in SSH:
    free mem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    650
    Type the command:
    free -m
    That will tell you all your ram statistics in megabytes.
    Tailored VPS offers fully customizable VPS Hosting
    Powered by OpenVZ | Servers located in the USA | 99.9% Uptime

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,842
    If it's openvz this one is usually more useful for discovering what your host has allocated and where you're exceeding the limits:
    Code:
    cat /proc/user_beancounters
    Chris

    "Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

  6. #6
    Its showing 1152MB, i bought only 512 MB. ???

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1152 85 1066 0 0 0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    771
    1152mb would be burst RAM.

  8. #8
    checkout the bean counters as foobic said

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,967
    Moved > Technical & Security Issues.
    Specially 4 You
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

  10. #10
    Hello,
    Here is the screen shot of bean counter, i can not figure out the numbers.
    Please help me
    http://buddingbloggers.com/bean_counter.png

    How will i know the actual memory allocated to me???
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails bean_counter.png  

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5,842
    Ok, it's not OpenVZ. Beancounters shows no limits on any of the resources, so it looks like Virtuozzo with SLM. The good news is, SLM is much easier to understand: free -m (or very likely the WHM memory usage logs) should tell you all you need to know.

    As Jamson said, the 1152MB is probably burst. If they've said 512MB is guaranteed then that's the limit you ought to be staying within.

    But free -m shows your current usage is only 85MB, privvmpages maxheld shows allocated memory (always more than used) at a maximum of 92122 = 360MB - it's hard to see how you were exceeding 512MB used. Did you have a surge of traffic?
    Last edited by foobic; 07-09-2009 at 09:14 AM.
    Chris

    "Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

  12. #12
    No, i havent recived any spikes in traffic.
    I checked the logs under whm. They are well with in limits.
    Is there a chance that they lied??

    when i use free -m command, i always see it to be around 100mb.
    max was 144mb.

Similar Threads

  1. Allocated Usage Tool
    By LMHart in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 04:06 PM
  2. Changing your allocated nameserver?
    By AMG01 in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 06:35 PM
  3. Space allocated
    By 01globalnet in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2006, 12:58 PM
  4. Your used / allocated bw please
    By Ahmad in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2002, 06:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •