Top 10 Shared Hosting Providers - What are your thoughts?

Hello. I am new to WHT and a grad student at University of Texas. My purpose for joining is to gain research for a thesis I am doing titled "Internet - Where it all begins?" My focus is on the hosting provider side of the industry considering it is a $19 Billion dollar industry.

The research that I found has lead me many different directions. It seems there are many website that tell you who the Top 10 providers are within the industry, however they provide no background data on why. There are some sights that provide user reviews, however small sample data.

This need for data brings me to you all. Who is the best shared hosting company? What makes them the best? Please help me gather this data by responding via this quick survey.

Rate 1-5 (1 being low; 5 being high)

Company Name:
    Company Website:

Service Offerings (1-5)
    Pricing (1-5)
    Customer Service (1-5)
    Market Perception (1-5)
    Experience (1-5)
    Quality (1-5)

It would be fantastic to have 100 responses to this survey, as that is the required sample data to use within my thesis. Any and all assistance is appreciated.

Thank you.

Eta Carinae
    there are no "best" hosts - the top sites are mostly affiliate payout sites, pretty worthless

what's best for me may be terrible for you and vice versa - it all depends on what you find best and how the host works with you and/or for you.

njoker555 - Thank you for the advice. There must be some consistency from one provider to the next. It seems that most of the shared hosting providers offer similar packages for space, control panel, bandwidth, support, and pricing. If you had to purchase a shared hosting package today, then who would you look at first?

USA, UK, Singapore