Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405

    Cpu Problem with xen?

    HI

    I have a dual quad core server and I installed xen on it but every vps has only 1 cpu. I added vcpus=8 to the config but its not working. Also I also changed domU-cpu to 8. And rebooted the server but its still only showing 1 cpu.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Posts
    372
    What sort of VPS is it? HVM? Paravirtualized? What OS?

    What does 'xm vcpu-list' say?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405
    Hvm. Windows server 2003 enterprise. I am not on a computer so I cant really copy and paste. When I checked it it shows 8 win2 but only one of them says cpu=4. The rest has a - or is blank.
    When i do xm list it says the vm has 1 vcpus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Posts
    372
    Can you paste an example VPS configuration?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by nenolod View Post
    Can you paste an example VPS configuration?
    here for the xm vcpus list

    xm vcpu-list
    Name ID VCPUs CPU State Time(s) CPU Affinity
    Domain-0 0 0 0 -b- 3595.7 0
    Domain-0 0 1 1 -b- 157.4 1
    Domain-0 0 2 2 -b- 97.8 2
    Domain-0 0 3 3 -b- 110.0 3
    Domain-0 0 4 4 -b- 81.0 4
    Domain-0 0 5 5 r-- 99.1 5
    Domain-0 0 6 6 -b- 104.2 6
    Domain-0 0 7 7 -b- 146.4 7
    win2 5 0 1 -b- 30871.1 any cpu
    win2 5 1 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 2 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 3 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 4 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 5 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 6 - --p 0.0 any cpu
    win2 5 7 - --p 0.0 any cpu


    example config
    kernel = '/usr/lib/xen/boot/hvmloader'
    builder = 'hvm'
    memory = '2048'
    device_model='/usr/lib/xen/bin/qemu-dm'

    # Disks
    disk = [ 'file:/root/windows2.img,ioemu:hda,w' ]

    vcpus="8"

    name = "win2"

    vif = ['type=ioemu, bridge=xenbr1']

    # Behaviour
    boot="c"
    vnc=0
    vncviewer=0
    sdl=0


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405
    can anyone help me with this

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Posts
    372
    are you using qemu as a stubdomain or as a in-userland process? there's no reason why that config shouldn't work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405
    Quote Originally Posted by nenolod View Post
    are you using qemu as a stubdomain or as a in-userland process? there's no reason why that config shouldn't work.
    I think im using qemu

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    405
    Hello can anyone help me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK, USA
    Posts
    372
    try writing a mail to the xen-users list.

Similar Threads

  1. Domain Problem , Hosting Problem or Security Problem?
    By xoleno in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2008, 05:41 AM
  2. Problem with installing HyperVM on CentOS (Problem w/ YUM?)
    By DennisM in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 09:05 PM
  3. Software Problem on Dedicated Server...Not a Problem on Shared??
    By ekusteve in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-14-2005, 12:35 PM
  4. php problem? Apache problem? Mime? Script can't do upload....
    By galacnet in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 11:15 AM
  5. Large problem with domains displaying wrong problem.
    By NationHosts in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 08:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •