types of bandwidth

I'm somewhat new to the hosting game but am currently in the market for options to suit a couple of new projects.

I've seen some talk here and there of "cheap bandwidth". What are the different types of bandwidth and what are the pros and cons of each?

A simple or technical answer either one would be appreciated.

Well, this is a short simple answer. For a long answer search the forums and you will find hundreds of pages of information.

Bandwidth is essentially the line between your site and another computer (or the net) and is measured/referred to by two standards: the size of the pipe (or the amount that can be transferred at one moment in time) and the amount that can be transferred in a period of time (a month for example).

When you see plans listed for sale they generally list the amount of GB of transfer each month. 15, 25, 300, etc. This is a threshold on the amount of information you can transfer in a set period of time and does not mean (directly) that you have a bigger or smaller pipe. I could sell you 300 GB of transfer on a 56k modem (although it would never transfer that much) or on a t-1 line.

When you see people talking about the size of the pipe they are talking about how big their internet connection is to the net. The bigger the size the more information that can be transferred at one time (or one moment in time).

Here is a list of some common pipes:

T-1 1.544 Mbps
    T-2 6.312 Mbps
    T-3 44.736 Mbps
    OC-1 51.84 Mbps
    OC-3 155.52 Mbps
    OC-12 622.08 Mbps
    OC-24 1.244 Gbps

As you go up the list you can see that each one can transfer more at a moment than another one.

So in asking what are the different kinds of bandwidth this is the background. Now the next step is to move on to who the provider is for the bandwidth.