Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Apache help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    288

    * Apache help

    Hoping someone has an idea or can help.

    Apache keeps stopping. MULTIPLE times per day!!! There is no logic to when it dies. But about every 2 hours.

    Load stays below .30 and there is free memory available.

    This is on a VPS machine. None of the other VPS's are having an issue. Just this one.

    Centos release 5.3 (Final)
    Apache/2.2.3

    Here is what is in the httpd.conf file. I realize the numbers are way too high, but just trying to get this issue to go away.

    Code:
    <IfModule prefork.c>
    StartServers     100
    MinSpareServers  100
    MaxSpareServers  100
    ServerLimit      512
    MaxClients       512
    MaxRequestsPerChild  4000                 
    </IfModule>
    
    <IfModule worker.c>
    StartServers       100
    MaxClients         500
    MinSpareThreads     25
    MaxSpareThreads     75
    ThreadsPerChild     25  
    MaxRequestsPerChild 100
    </IfModule>
    Here is what is in the /var/log/httpd/error_log file before it dies:


    Code:
    [Wed Jul 01 18:06:32 2009] [info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 8 children, there are 98 idle, and 108 total children
    [Wed Jul 01 18:08:17 2009] [info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 8 children, there are 74 idle, and 76 total children
    [Wed Jul 01 18:08:18 2009] [info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 16 children, there are 63 idle, and 63 total children
    [Wed Jul 01 18:08:19 2009] [info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 32 children, there are 79 idle, and 79 total children
    [Wed Jul 01 18:11:36 2009] [info] server seems busy, (you may need to increase StartServers, or Min/MaxSpareServers), spawning 8 children, there are 93 idle, and 108 total children
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    If you need additional information, please let me know.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shoreline WA
    Posts
    160
    First it would help to figure out what all the activity is about. You can do this by editing your httpd.conf so that "ExtendedStatus" is set to on, and then uncomment the "<Location /server-status>" of the configuration, and set it to "Allow from" your IP address. Then restart apache. Now you can view more information about what is going on with your web server by going to /server-status on any site hosted on the server. It could be that something is being abused, or a bug is locking apache children open, or something like that. You may benefit from modifying your KeepAlive and KeepAliveTimeout settings as well.
    Jonathan Kinney
    Data Systems Specialist
    Advantagecom Networks, Inc.
    http://www.simplywebhosting.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    288
    Jonathan... thank you.... I should have mentioned that I did enable the "ExtendedStatus". There unfortunately is nothing unusual there. Except a few:
    OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0

    Currently:

    KeepAlive Off
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 100
    KeepAliveTimeout 15

    Would you suggest a different setting?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shoreline WA
    Posts
    160
    You could try turning KeepAlive to On, and then setting the KeepAliveTimeout to something like 2 or 3. That could reduce the number of simultaneously needed children. The other suggestion might be to continue to scale the configuration up, but yeah, the numbers are quite high. It could be possible that a DDOS is happening, or a client has a malfunctioning script loading things over and over, or it could be all legit traffic, and you have a popular site on your hands.

    Those messages really don't make sense to me. I am not sure why you would get the apache server spawning children if it has so many sitting around idle as it says it does.
    Jonathan Kinney
    Data Systems Specialist
    Advantagecom Networks, Inc.
    http://www.simplywebhosting.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    288
    Jonathan... thanks! I will give that a try. I am more and more beginning to think it is a malfunctioning script. Although, there is nothing showing in the domains error log.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    288
    One thing I am noticing in the server status. If I access the domain from one browser tab. I check the server status in another tab, the server status will show my domain connection. But when I delete the tab that I am accessing the domain on. The connections remain on the server status tab. Even after refreshing and after 4-5 minutes they are still there. It is like it won't let them go. Any ideas on that?

Similar Threads

  1. How to replace apache prefork to apache worker on Centos 5??
    By toy_boy in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 12:59 AM
  2. Easy::Apache v3.2.0 Build 4469 Apache Config
    By jgnr in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 08:23 AM
  3. Apache procs constantly rise, until apache is restarted.
    By astounding in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-25-2007, 08:10 PM
  4. After upgrading apache 1.3.x to apache 2.x on redhat Linux the webs do not show.
    By jonathan184 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2005, 11:22 AM
  5. apache problem... switch from cgi to apache module URGENT!
    By needhelpcom in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 06:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •