Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1

    Colo4Dallas currently down??

    I cannot access my server at colo4dallas and their customer support
    web portal is also down. Phone calls to tech support just go to
    voice mail. Anyone else having problems?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    519
    Seems they suffered a small power outage and have rerouted the power, but servers may need to be powered back up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    16,951
    Our servers are fine :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    519
    Didn't affect the whole DC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Was it the new DC or the old one?

    I hear they have the best power and network config ever. Its weard to read this.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Was it the new DC or the old one?

    I hear they have the best power and network config ever. Its weard to read this.
    LOL... that is why I posted here... I could not believe they were down,
    I was sure it was my stuff. I've had a server there for years and it has
    never been down for reasons other than mine. C4D has given me the most
    reliable service that I've ever had.

    They are still down, it's been about an hour and a half since I noticed.

    Anyone have any updates? Or what time they went down?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    246
    Our equipment which was effected by this came back up approximately 1 hour and 8 minutes ago.

    Attempts to call Colo4Dallas over this issue have gone unanswered.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,410
    Our servers are fine. I'm not seeing an downtime from internal/external monitoring.

  9. #9
    The support portal is back up and I just logged a ticket. The server
    I have there is set to reboot on pwr fail but I have a failed hard disk
    in it and it requires an F1 to bypass the error. Guess I need to take the
    time to fix that. I suspect they are going to be covered up with power
    up requests.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Well, it would be nice to know if someone of you have 2 power drops or just one?

    If you have 2 power drops and both went down then its bad...

    But if its was an inside problem I guess not all customers where affected. Still, was it the new or old DC?

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    Well, it would be nice to know if someone of you have 2 power drops or just one?

    If you have 2 power drops and both went down then its bad...

    But if its was an inside problem I guess not all customers where affected. Still, was it the new or old DC?
    I think I'm in the old DC on Irving, how new is the new DC?

    I have two power drops but one working power supply so I don't
    know about that.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    What you mean with 2 power drops but only 1 working supply?
    You mean you paid 1 power supply for years and never had a power problem with only one? That would be impressive.
    When you mean years, how many actually?
    Are you back online now?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,687
    We have cabinets in both 3000 and 3004 Irving and have not seen any outage, touch wood. Our monitoring did pick up a jitter in the network for a couple of minutes though and we noticed some abnormal network behavior. Everything seems fine now though.

    Colo4Dallas customer portal was down with an error message for around an hour when we tried to get in and bandwidth charts inside the portal are still down. We have been unable to reach anyone by phone either.

    - Chris

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by nibb View Post
    What you mean with 2 power drops but only 1 working supply?
    You mean you paid 1 power supply for years and never had a power problem with only one? That would be impressive.
    When you mean years, how many actually?
    Are you back online now?
    The server that is down is a backup server for the most part. If I
    remember correctly I think I noticed one of my PS's had failed the last
    time I was there and I did not have a spare with me, and that was about
    a year ago. I was planning on upgrading that server but just have not
    taken the time to make it happen. It's been there several years, maybe
    four or five?

    Still down, no response to my support ticket. The DC may be up but until I
    get a F1 to get by the failed disk I'm dead and that should not reflect
    on C4D at all. I should have fixed the server a year ago.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,448
    Quote Originally Posted by Rochen View Post
    We have cabinets in both 3000 and 3004 Irving and have not seen any outage, touch wood. Our monitoring did pick up a jitter in the network for a couple of minutes though and we noticed some abnormal network behavior. Everything seems fine now though.

    Colo4Dallas customer portal was down with an error message for around an hour when we tried to get in and bandwidth charts inside the portal are still down. We have been unable to reach anyone by phone either.

    - Chris
    Ok that means its probably an isolated issue, not a DC wide one thats for sure.

  16. #16
    We have cabinets in both 3000 and 3004 Irving and have not seen any outage
    It's probably just the cheap guys like me, LOL with crappy servers.

    I'm in 3000 Irving.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    604
    I am guessing their phone system is hosted within their datacenter hence it was down

  18. #18
    UPS2 (out of 9) had an issue and power has been restored. Most customers on this UPS would have been in the front of 3000 Irving Blvd. The UPS contractors are on site and working to find the issue and put in place a long term fix. A detailed RFO will be posted to all open tickets once the cause of the issue is found and fixed.

    The support system and VoIP were on redundant PDUs, but off the same UPS. That will be corrected within the next 24 hours.

  19. #19
    They had some type of power glitch. Our hosting partner is onsite working on our equipment. The power outage must of been precluded by a surge because it took out the Power Distribution Units. He said colo4dallas had electricians on site working on things. We have some of our server back online now hopefully the surge protection stopped it before it got to any of our servers, if not its going to be a long night reloading allot of sites from backups.

  20. #20
    There was no surge. If a UPS goes down, the PDUs attached to it go down. This affected 1 of the 9 UPSs. Less than 15% of power circuits. Just looking at stats this UPS has been operational for 6 years without incident. All service has been completed but sometimes things like this can happen.

  21. #21
    Hardware does fail, it's a given, can't fault C4D for that, the
    service has been outstanding for us.

    How far out are power cycles/reboots running? My server still
    seems to be down and no recent response on the support ticket.

    This is the first outage I've had with you C4D in years so I'm not
    sure what to expect time wise. And the support ticket server seems
    to be overloaded with no response or very slow response.

  22. #22
    Looks like we are up and running now.

Similar Threads

  1. Colo4Dallas
    By Garfieldcat5 in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 01:45 PM
  2. 1/2 cab in Colo4Dallas
    By gate2vn in forum Colo Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 10:46 PM
  3. Colo4dallas down?
    By AMD64 in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 10:38 PM
  4. colo4dallas ?
    By ceodre in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2003, 09:23 AM
  5. colo4dallas?
    By Shyne in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-24-2002, 06:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •