hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Specialty Hosting and Markets : Have to reset the HTTP server in CPanel daily?
Reply

Forum Jump

Have to reset the HTTP server in CPanel daily?

Reply Post New Thread In Specialty Hosting and Markets Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2009, 03:43 PM
jeffcougsfan jeffcougsfan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1

Have to reset the HTTP server in CPanel daily?


for the last few weeks, my sites have been frequently failing to load (eventually goes to a "server is taking too long..." error). To fix this, I have been manually going into CPanel and restarting the HTTP server.

This fixes it temporarily, but I've had to do it as many as 10 times in one day.

I'm on a virtual dedicated server through GoDaddy. I called their support and they looked in and said that there was a script running as user "nobody" that was jamming up the ram on the server.

They wouldn't offer any more support, so my problem is that I don't know which of my sites is hosting this user "nobody". How can I figure this out? I saw on one thread that installing suPHP could help, but I'm a total newb.

What can I do?

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-2009, 04:25 PM
darkeden darkeden is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffcougsfan View Post
for the last few weeks, my sites have been frequently failing to load (eventually goes to a "server is taking too long..." error). To fix this, I have been manually going into CPanel and restarting the HTTP server.

This fixes it temporarily, but I've had to do it as many as 10 times in one day.

I'm on a virtual dedicated server through GoDaddy. I called their support and they looked in and said that there was a script running as user "nobody" that was jamming up the ram on the server.

They wouldn't offer any more support, so my problem is that I don't know which of my sites is hosting this user "nobody". How can I figure this out? I saw on one thread that installing suPHP could help, but I'm a total newb.

What can I do?
well. do you have any apache logs or anything you could post?

__________________
Leader of the new anti sig spamming club.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2009, 07:25 PM
ServerManagement ServerManagement is offline
Platinum quality
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey, US
Posts: 1,365
All http processes run as nobody, so saying this is jamming the server is too vague to go by.

For cgi/php scripts you can use suexec/suphp to identify those processes, but you will still need to check the logs and the apache status to see what is going on.

__________________
PlatinumServerManagement (also known as PSM)
The OLDEST and LARGEST and MOST TRUSTED server management provider in the USA, with 15+ employees and growing!
Providing quality support for OVER 14 years! Currently supporting over 3,000 servers monthly!

www.PlatinumServerManagement.com Proud member of the NJ BBB & Chamber of Commerce, and Authorized Cpanel Partner.


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:33 PM
petteyg359 petteyg359 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 607
Why aren't you using suPHP (if it a PHP script) or FCGID so that scripts run under the user that owns them?

__________________
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB] [1000 ≠ 1024] [Giga ≠ gram] [Mega ≠ milli] [Kelvin ≠ kilo] [Byte ≠ bit]
There is no millibit. There is no gram-bit. There is no Kelvin-Byte.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2009, 02:16 AM
MarkioE MarkioE is offline
Standard Nerd
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 714
Do you have SSH? You can do command: service httpd fullstatus (Depending on OS).

That should show any sites taking up a lot of resources. Check the process list in cPanel too.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reset cpanel backup? dragon2611 Hosting Software and Control Panels 5 09-08-2005 03:19 PM
Reset cPanel/WHM CCF Hosting Hosting Security and Technology 1 03-28-2004 12:41 AM
cPanel... need to reset password... HopelessLose Hosting Security and Technology 2 03-17-2004 03:17 PM
Does anyone know how to reset accounts in CPANEL? huynhk Hosting Security and Technology 2 06-13-2003 11:09 AM
CP stats reset daily iplexx Dedicated Server 2 04-02-2001 12:45 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Hosting Control Panel cPanel & WHM 11.34 Release Hits Stable Tier Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 17:04:57
cPanel Releases cPanel, WHM 11.34 with New User Interface Web Hosting News 2012-10-16 13:09:49
cPanel Conference 2012: Scrum and cPanel with John L. Koston Web Hosting News 2012-10-15 09:08:55
cPanel Conference 2012: Branding and How to Do it Better with Felipe Gasper Web Hosting News 2012-10-09 18:00:02
Video: cPanel and Attracta Talk About Integrating SEO Tools into the Hosting Control Panel Whir Tv 2014-05-02 15:24:21


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?