Thread: Video Hosting

Video Hosting

Hello, have to report I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to some of the hosting aspects so I was excited to see all the smart people involved here.

I am working on a project that will involve a LOT of video. The primary material will be hosted on an Learning Management System (LMS) but the video components of it I believe are going to have to be hosted externally from the main elearning material on that LMS and be streamed in. The video content is excessive. I'm figuring close to 1000GB of monthly bandwidth for the video streaming alone. Am i correct in assuming that most typical low cost hosts forbid heavy video streaming from their services and that I would be best served by paying for a service specific for video hosting and a dedicated server? what are some of the better options when it comes to that?

Thanks for the help!

Actually there are a lot of shared web hosting services which offer that kind of streaming, but you said you wanted a lot of videos and if you need a lot you need to have a dedicated server for that.
    ASPnix Web Hosting - ASP.NET, MS SQL, AJAX, Hyper-V
    Microsoft Hosting and Virtualization

Hi!

You can use any regular shared account to host your site and something like Amazon S3 for your videos, http://aws.amazon.com/s3/, that will make you save money and not take care of a dedicated server.
    Shared Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - Semi-Dedicated Servers - SolusVM/XEN VPS
    LiteSpeed Powered - R1Soft Continuous Data Protection - 24/7 Chat/Email/Helpdesk Support
    Cpanel/WHM - Softaculous - R1soft Backup - Litespeed - Cloudlinux -Site Builder- SSH support - Account Migration
    DowntownHost LLC - In Business since 2001- West/Center/East USA - Netherlands - Singapore

Big projects of video streaming can not be handled on shared hosting. Copyrights issues can also be faced.
    I suggest to opt for any data transfer site or dedicated server according to your requirements.