Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: /tmp file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    16

    /tmp file

    I was playing around with this and that as you do, and somehow changed my /tmp folder from rwxrwxrwt to rwxrwxrwx -

    iv tried running chmod 1777 /tmp as someone suggested that but nothing seems to of happened ?

    any ideas ?

    thanks , Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shoreline WA
    Posts
    160
    Did you get an error when you ran that command. One way or another something did happen, either a new blank command prompt, or an error. That command should indeed set it back to what it should be, if it doesn't... well the first thing that comes to mind is that perhaps your normal utilities have been replace (root hack), and you either can't do that, or your directory listing program is not showing what is really there. Another possibility is that there are some other major problems going on, and perhaps the drive is now read only. Check your dmesg output for errors (unless you are on a VPS)
    Jonathan Kinney
    Data Systems Specialist
    Advantagecom Networks, Inc.
    http://www.simplywebhosting.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    16
    I am a VPS, i ran the command and a new blank line came up after, when I checked it in Kloxo it looked like it hadent changed ! is there a command i can run to see what permisons are on the files and folders ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shoreline WA
    Posts
    160
    At the shell prompt, you can do a simple "ls -la /tmp" and that should show you exactly what the permissions are. In that output it would normally be the first directory "." that you should look at the permissions.
    Jonathan Kinney
    Data Systems Specialist
    Advantagecom Networks, Inc.
    http://www.simplywebhosting.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    16
    In which case i think it worked

    drwxrwxrwt 4 root root 4096 Jun 25 11:16 .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Shoreline WA
    Posts
    160
    Yes, that does look like it should. Perhaps Kloxo is in some sort of a chroot'ed environment, or does not display all directories and their permissions accurately.
    Jonathan Kinney
    Data Systems Specialist
    Advantagecom Networks, Inc.
    http://www.simplywebhosting.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 12:43 PM
  2. 1.com/file.php, 2.com/file.php where file.php is hosted on main.com/file.php?
    By zymic in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-26-2008, 11:41 AM
  3. 2GB File Hosting w 30GB Bandwidth 100MB File Size
    By danny43 in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 09:38 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2002, 08:09 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-01-2001, 05:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •