Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    33

    Do i need glue records for all domains on my VPS?

    Hi,

    I do some web development and I have a VPS to provide hosting for my clients, but I don't have a huge amount of experience in hosting or domains.

    The provider of my VPS does not sell domain names, so I have to get the domains elsewhere, for each domain I've purchased I have had to contact the domain provider and get them to add glue records like following...

    ns1.example.com > 97.123.xxx.xxx (Primary IP address of my VPS)
    ns2.example.com > 97.123.xxx.xxx (Secondary IP address of my VPS)

    I then add the account in WHM on my server.

    Is this process necessary for every domain I wish to host on my server?

    I tried just adding an A record for a domain which pointed to the primary IP address of my VPS, but this didnt seem to do anything.

    Its clumbersome having to get the domain provider to add these glue records each time, and theres a delay also. I'm just wondering if there is a better way to go about this whole process?

    Also, if I am purchasing lots of domains and needing to point them all to my VPS, where is the best place to do this that will give me a reselling discount and also allow me to add any necessary glue records etc, so everything is under my control?

    I've searched several times and have yet to find any useful info.

  2. #2
    Why would you need glue records for every domain?
    You should add glue records for your nameservers once, and then use those nameservers for all your other domains.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    33
    yeah this is what I'm thinking, sorry im not up to speed on all of this. My VPS is not setup with a domain, as in there is no main domain. So the main domain i wish to use I have glue records setup, then I created an account in WHM for this domain, lets call it mymaindomain.com. So now all i need to do is change the nameservers for every other domain to ns1.mymaindomain.com and ns2.mymaindomain.com?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,955
    Exactly what Coax said. Here's an example:

    1) buy your domain (ex: webhostingcompany.com)
    2) create glue records ns1.webhostingcompany.com and ns2.webhostingcompany.com and assign the server IPs to those in your registrar. Godaddy calls these HOST records
    3) Give your customers ns1.webhostingcompany.com and ns2.webhostingcompany.com. Those are the nameservers that they need (no glue needed for their domain name).

    Regards
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Austin Tx
    Posts
    2,001
    No, you don't, just use name-based hosting, and you can even "fake" dns for testing / dev by entering the IP + domain in your hosts file.

    IP based hosting is a waste, unless you need it (SSL, etc).
    This is the best signature in the world....Tribute!
    (It is not the best signature in the world, no. This is just a tribute)

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by mugo View Post
    No, you don't, just use name-based hosting, and you can even "fake" dns for testing / dev by entering the IP + domain in your hosts file.

    IP based hosting is a waste, unless you need it (SSL, etc).
    WHat does any of that have to do with this thread?
    Misposted probably.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Austin Tx
    Posts
    2,001
    Quote Originally Posted by coax View Post
    WHat does any of that have to do with this thread?
    Misposted probably.
    You can't figure that out?

    Wow.
    This is the best signature in the world....Tribute!
    (It is not the best signature in the world, no. This is just a tribute)

  8. #8
    Name based or IP based hosting has nothing to do with the glue records problem the OP spoke about.. Maybe you can explain

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Austin Tx
    Posts
    2,001
    Quote Originally Posted by coax View Post
    Name based or IP based hosting has nothing to do with the glue records problem the OP spoke about.. Maybe you can explain
    You are right. I glossed over, and didn't realize he was asking about the A records...3rd grade teacher was right, "Read for comprehension". God rest her soul.

    My bad (where is the nearest rock again?)
    Sorry!
    This is the best signature in the world....Tribute!
    (It is not the best signature in the world, no. This is just a tribute)

  10. #10
    ip based hosting requred in ssl, its all about trust!

Similar Threads

  1. Enom can't update the glue records for a nameserver?
    By Max Renn in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 04-19-2014, 10:45 AM
  2. What registrar can handle glue records?
    By giraffedata in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 12:38 AM
  3. Setting up domains with SOA, MX records etc
    By andy taylor in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2003, 11:16 AM
  4. Name Server host records for UK domains
    By JonB in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-29-2002, 01:58 PM
  5. Where do I add mx records and create sub domains.
    By jkcity in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2001, 08:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •