Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    372

    need to add just domains, which control panel on vps ?

    I am looking an vps for my friend and he was planning to get some vps plan and he wants free control panel

    his actual intentions with control panel are very simple, just 3 needs:

    1. need to add just 3 domains, which control panel on vps ?
    2. check resource usage
    3. set up lighthttpd

    no more work on the control panel, so plz suggest a control panel to b used for vps which is easier


    I am not sure if Kloxo is safe enough, may be activate these 3 needs and de-activate kloxo ???

    p.s: no knowledge on using codes, so take tht into consideration

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    200
    If you just need some sort of control panel to manage your web server, check on resources and add domains, I would guess the control panel that comes with litespeed would fit the bill. It's free and it works out of the box so no need to edit config files or other work required. If you need more functionality such as controlling other services like mysql, webmin might work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    372
    he is not gonna use controlling mysql, he just needs 2 sql's to b created and no need of managing later on
    backing up and restoring can b done via ssh

    which control panel comes free with litespeed ?? I never heard litespeed was free

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    200
    litespeed standard is free, and it comes with a control panel to manage the webserver. Personally, I like it since it means I don't have to deal with manually entering virtual hosts entries like I do with apache.

    If you want to see litespeed's control panel in action go check out http://litespeedtech.com/products/webserver/demo/

  5. #5
    If it is windows, you can see HostingController, which is free for 5 sites I think. Otherwise Webmin is also good.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    372
    kohrar litespeed is good but I doubt if they would work with my friend's image hosting and blog scripts as they use rewrite and changing from lighthttpd to litespeed might need manual editing of htaccess files and I highly doubt support for litespeed compared to lighthttpd and is it possible to add domains in litespeed's control panel ?? As in demo I don't find any such option

    connectresller - its linux cent os, and webmin needs some basic coding knowledge I believe, as I mentioned earlier neither me nor him have good knowledge in relating to coding aspects

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    200
    Litespeed does support rewrite rules from apache's htaccess files. I'm not completely sure about lighttpd since I've only ever used it once. You can add domains to virtual hosts by editing the virtual host entry from the listeners section. If you need a control panel to manage the DNS of the domains too, then I'm afraid litespeed is not up to the job.

    Also, if you plan to have large amounts of traffic and don't want to cough up money, then I would also stay away from litespeed as the standard edition does limit you to 100 concurrent connections.

    If you are just planning to add a few domains, I suggest doing it manually especially if you don't need changing them very frequently. It may be faster learning how to do change the configuration manually than searching for a completely automated control panel. It's probably not as hard as you think.

  8. #8
    what distro you are running?

    try virtualmin
    Last edited by Gary4gar; 06-24-2009 at 02:07 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    372
    kohrar he got lots of traffic, so litespeed free version is not possible for him to use

    gary I am not sure, what u mean my distro

    its cent o5.x and quad2core server

    doesn't virtual min requires basic coding knowledge ??

  10. #10
    A distro stands for Distribution.No Coding is required to use virtualmin.

    you can add domains manually also. its pretty easy. you just have setup virtual hosts. its very easy

    here is a detailed tutorial:
    http://www.linode.com/wiki/index.php/CentOS#Lighttpd

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    372
    thanks for the info gary, will fwd the info to my friend need to check his opinion too

Similar Threads

  1. Any billing panel/control panel addon that can intregrate into the control panel?
    By Oskare100 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-06-2007, 12:20 AM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 11:28 AM
  3. $6.00 a month....$8.75 domains with control panel
    By colorteck in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2003, 10:37 PM
  4. Adding multiple domains with a control panel?
    By tazd9t9 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2002, 01:49 PM
  5. $6.95 per mo. / Free Domains / Control Panel
    By dwelbourn in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2002, 10:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •