VPS Memory, how much?

Hi,
    I'm new to VPS and just bought a VPS (256 MB RAM with virtuozzo/plesk control panel)

The first time I got the VPS and played around with the control panel, the memory usage reached 120 - 140 MB and oomguarpages was already on yellow zone. When I had a FTP problem, the staff said that I need to either upgrade the memory or optimize the script. But at that time I haven't uploaded one single file yet.

When I added a website (wordpress mu), the memory jumped to 210 MB even though it's a fresh install wordpress with one single post "hello world!" and no one visited the website but myself.

For me it's a bit weird, with no website the memory is already on yellow zone and with one or two websites the memory is on red zone and almost reached the limit.

So I need advice here, is my VPS condition normal? How much memory does it need to run a couple of websites (or one wordpress mu with a couple of subdomains)?

I just can't imagine if my website was fully running with multiple subdomains. I almost feel cheated because I paid a certain amount but can't really run a single website on it and especially being told I need to upgrade RAM before I can do anything.

Cheers

ps. I also have another VPS (256 MB RAM) running lighttpd with hypervm/kloxo, it runs really good with very low memory usage (around 20 MB with a new Wordpress MU fresh install) but after the whole lxlabs drama I'd like to move to a more stable control panel.

I'd personally recommend a Virtuozzo / cPanel combination. That may be a personal opinion as I just dislike Plesk for their control panel, but I do like Virtuozzo for virtualization.

The cPanel optimized version uses about 96MB of RAM out of box if I remember correctly with NO accounts on it.

Wordpress unfortunately is a bit heavy of a script to run. I'd recommend installing wp-super-cache if you haven't already on that wordpress blog. You can download it here:

http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wp-super-cache/