Hybrid View

What do I need, Where do I get it?

Sorry for the wordy post. I just need some advice. Thanks in advance!

I have limited knowledge, so I was hoping some of you would be able to help me figure out what I need based on what I'll be using my dedicated server for. While my needs are modest now, they could and will grow, so I'll lay them out as best as possible.

The dedicated server is for hosting client sites at an advertising agency. Right now that includes about 50 low traffic sites with basic marketing information and very small databases. I want the ability to install anything I'd like while also having a managed service. I need excellent 24x7 support and monitoring so I'll be notified if any of my sites go down. My highest traffic site sees about 2,000 visitors a month. However, that site has the possibility of growing to more like 100,000 visitors monthly.

I want my sites to run as quickly as possible. We are currently using CMSs on some sites and may be running ecommerce engines in the future. In addition, we need the ability to handle large databases. Also, I want something that will grow with our needs.

Also, I feel most comfortable working with a non-Windows machine. We're currently on Windows based server, but I'd like to move away from that since we aren't running anything dependent of the environment. I'd also prefer to have Plesk w/ unlimited domains, but I'd be open to other options.

What I want to know from hardware/software standpoint:
    OS
    Processor
    Memory
    Hard drive (was thinking 250GB with RAID-1)

What I want to know from a hosting standpoint:
    Best host for my needs with absolute best support and reliability.
    Price is of no concern.
    Last edited by mjurgemeyer; 06-18-2009 at 01:52 PM.
    Jurgemeyer Design
    A Colorado Design Company
    http://www.jurgemeyer.com