Reseller Hosting to Managed Dedicated Server - is it time for me?

Hi,

I am a freelance designer and I host about 20 client (few Joomla and osCommerce sites) - but all mainly html brochure type of web sites.

I have been on dotable reseller hosting for now 3 years and its a bit expensive almost $50/month now. I was thinking of getting my own managed dedicated server for only $100-150/month.

I have never owned/used a dedicated server, so I know if I am ready for one and what to expect.

1. Are there any things I should look out for while searching for a server?
    2. What are things to avoid?
    3. Are their main advantages or disadvantages versus VPS (reseller) hosting vs dedicated?

I just do not want to expect issues and constant monitoring since its a dedicated server, I don't want to worry about anything...

I forgot to ask:
    Does it matter what the CPU/memory specs? I see a lot of companies offering servers on AMD Athalon or Intel Celeron or even Pentium 4.
    Will these outdated CPU work just fine and be enough?

First, make sure it is managed and has control panel so you can easily manage your account.

2nd, make sure the network is stable and you are getting a good server. With good server, it means ram at least 2GB, Sata2 Drives, etc...
    Specially 4 You
    JoneSolutions.Com ( Jones.Solutions ) is on the net 24/7 providing stable and reliable web hosting solutions and services since 2001

Quote Originally Posted by patrickarmen View Post
    Hi,

I am a freelance designer and I host about 20 client (few Joomla and osCommerce sites) - but all mainly html brochure type of web sites.

I have been on dotable reseller hosting for now 3 years and its a bit expensive almost $50/month now. I was thinking of getting my own managed dedicated server for only $100-150/month.

I have never owned/used a dedicated server, so I know if I am ready for one and what to expect.