Results 1 to 31 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85

    media 30 hosted site been down for days!

    I have a hosting account with Media 30 I got the email saying that there are big problems with Vaserv. IV emailed the support several times and had emails back first asking me for my server ip address, then my domain name and now my correct root password.

    Is this correct should I give it to them? What happened at Vaserv anyway?







  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3,077
    Basically hackers were inside their HyperVM installation and they wiped the data off a large portion of their VPS nodes.

    Vaserv has now been sold to BlueSquareData LTD.

    I'm not sure why Media30 was affected unless that is also based on a VPS?

    Support obviously think you have a VPS as there is no root password for a shared/reseller account. All you can do is give them your information and hope they can get you online again.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    19,185

    Sorry to hear

    Hello,
    I am sorry to report, but your site may not be back up any time soon, unless Media30 has performed a backup of the VPS "Server" they have been using. VASserv has been hit by a MASSIVE attack. This allowed the people behind the attack to gain root access to nost of VAServ's Servers. There was ALOT of lost data because of this.

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=867143
    Keith I Myers
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic
    Geek Survival Guide - Reviews and Advice for Geeks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85
    Would there be any reason why they would want my cpanel account password?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85
    My data seems ok I can login to cpanel and the data seems to be there. My site is just offline.

    I thinking of just quitting Media 30 anyway and getting a non VASserv VPS.

    Any recommendations for a good cheep uk VPS which has nothing to do with VASserv?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    19,185
    Do you need a VPS or Standard Hosting?

    You can look in the Offers Section of this forum to see if you can find any matches
    Keith I Myers
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic
    Geek Survival Guide - Reviews and Advice for Geeks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85
    Was thinking of switching to medialayer after reading good reviews but they don't allow pornograph and one of my up and coming sites will have adult content!

  8. #8
    Well hopefully VAserv will sort it out for you.

    But otherwise I'd suggest looking into a reseller account or a even a server if you can warrant it.

    Both are perfect for running multiple sites or projects and a vps should really only be used if you need root access.
    Data Republic - UK Managed Servers - Server Management - Managed Backup/R1Soft
    Follow us on Twitter to get exclusive sales & updates.
    R1Soft Agents Monthly !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,570
    Hopefully your issues will be fixed soon, it's rare that these things happen but when it does it is unfortunate due to the great amount of people who are affected and the money involved.

    A reseller plan or a shared hosting plan that allows multiple addon domains would be perfect for you to host multiple sites, possibly much cheaper and affordable than a VPS.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    304
    Were you able to find, get all your data?
    Hey Mikey likes it!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85
    I got an email back saying the following:

    If you change your DNS to use afraid.org and point the domain at the server IP it should come back online.

    Which doesnt make much sense to me as I only have the options of pointing my domain at 2 nameservers and not point it at a ip address!

    Im pretty sick of this TBH

  12. #12
    i dont know what to do but better dontgive it to them. i think these are hackers

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,838
    Well at least you can get at your data. Good luck to you my friend.
    Computer Steroids - Full service website development solutions since 2001.
    (612)234-2768 - Locally owned and operated in the Minneapolis, Minnesota area.

  14. #14
    Was you able to get this sorted? I have the smae problem and did get the same reply from support. I have trouble to get my sites working through afraid.org. I have a reseller account on media30 and have only been able to get 1/6 sites working through afraid.org and that sites now shows a 1,5 years old version of that site.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,750
    Have you tried Media30 support?

  16. #16
    Yes, only got the same reply as above, "Please use DNS hosting for afraid.org for now and your sites can come up". Have sent more tickets to both media30 and a2b2 but no more help so far.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,750
    How long since your last contact with them?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    85
    Na never got it sort and Media30 support no longer works you cant even submit a ticket! Telling you to use afraid.org is pathetic and I had no real idea how to do what he was talking about so I got pissed off and now have my own VPS at GBservers.

    I am just going to cancel my media30 account altogether. They offered no real support whatsoever IMHO

  19. #19
    Having the exact same problem, I have over 10 websites hosted with media30 so this is a disaster for me and my clients.

    As with andy91 I have now moved to a Virtual Private Server elsewhere. However, I am unable to receive the EPP codes for some of my domains so I cannot transfer them, I have emailed both a2b2 and the registrar but I am awaiting a reply on either.

    I will also need access to the Media30 server to retrieve a lot of data that was not backed up by myself or clients. If anyone can give some indication as to when this will be possible that would be greatly appreciated.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Please PM me the ticket number as I'm not seeing anything oustanding on this

    rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  21. #21
    I dont seem to have permissions to PM you, my ticket number is #AFQ-557085

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    Yup can see that one just drop in. Can't see any other tickets from yourself but will be handeled and will be updated via ticket as WHT isn't our support desk
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  23. #23
    argh, frustrating...

    my Media30 site has been down for almost two weeks, and I can't raise a ticket via their site due to a 'License Has Expired' message. Has Media30 bit the dust permanently (funnily enough I still recieved an invoice for next month from them - they're having laugh).

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    19,185
    Quote Originally Posted by gg_bris View Post
    argh, frustrating...

    my Media30 site has been down for almost two weeks, and I can't raise a ticket via their site due to a 'License Has Expired' message. Has Media30 bit the dust permanently (funnily enough I still recieved an invoice for next month from them - they're having laugh).
    It is never a good sign to see the 'License Expired' message. Normally that is a death cry saying the end is near
    Keith I Myers
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic
    Geek Survival Guide - Reviews and Advice for Geeks

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Liverpool, England, UK.
    Posts
    2,561
    Media30, as far as I am concerned, seems to be a "dead in the water" brand now.

    Thier website is gone, the former vtsix DNS has not worked for weeks, they have no control over their domain names with their registrar, their support system (Kayako) needed a new license key 12 days ago and they never bothered to sort it out, and tonight one of their servers has a full /tmp - I was having issues with an SQL website I have hosted with them, and was told at support.vaserv.com that the SQL server is fine.

    Have since established the problem is the full /tmp, so informed them of this, and guess what, nobody is home. No answer in 3 hours now, basically, any Media30 tickets don't seem to be liked to regular support staff, so they wait for Rus or Vlada to take care of them.

    I think Rus should either call it a day for the brand, or sort out the underlying issues with it, because as it stands, for the past two weeks, the brand has been forgotten and practically killed.

    And it was not touched by the HyperVM exploit, because it does not use VPS servers, so there is little excuse for so many problems! Indeed, I actually used the Media30 support desk when everything else VAServ went kaput two weeks ago.
    Xcellweb.net - Quality Web Solutions That Work!
    █ Web Hosting | Web Servers | Shoutcast | Domain Names

    Providing High Quality Web Solutions Since July 2002!
    5sterling.com & 9dollars.us - No-frills budget web hosting, VPS, shoutcast and domain names!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    In the Internets
    Posts
    3,622
    Quote Originally Posted by KDisk View Post
    It is never a good sign to see the 'License Expired' message. Normally that is a death cry saying the end is near
    Or it could just be a simple mistake.

    StableHost .:. Unlimited web hosting done right. Experience the unlimited difference.
    PingThat .:. Is your website down? Find out now with our QuickChecker technology.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Liverpool, England, UK.
    Posts
    2,561
    Quote Originally Posted by EditDNS-Tyler View Post
    Or it could just be a simple mistake.

    Simple mistakes don't generally take 12 days to fix/get ignored despite being advised of them.

    Xcellweb.net - Quality Web Solutions That Work!
    █ Web Hosting | Web Servers | Shoutcast | Domain Names

    Providing High Quality Web Solutions Since July 2002!
    5sterling.com & 9dollars.us - No-frills budget web hosting, VPS, shoutcast and domain names!

  28. #28
    any other web hosts for approx 5 a month with the same sort of storage space (5GB) as Media30 about, ideally with cPanel? they were cheap (possibly part of the problem).

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,750
    Do you actually use the full 5GB? Do you have a preference over which data center in the UK?

  30. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by GeekSRV View Post
    Do you actually use the full 5GB? Do you have a preference over which data center in the UK?
    As its a music website, I need several gigs for hosting high bitrate mp3... I think 3GB would be minimum (traffic isn't excessive though). No pref over datacenter.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,882
    Seems they are closing down. Their customers got a message that servers will be shut down on July 5th. Have a look at this thread.

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=870514

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •