Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Why did my Shared IP address change?

    I'm having problems hosting my last 2 websites, especially AchieversHouse.com.
    The Shared IP address on my cpanel just automatically changed from 174.132.227.96 to 70.47.137.218, and I don't know how. So that when I set it the domain, it does not show the intended home page, instead the message on the page says "the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM) which use the Apache Web server software and the Apache Interface to OpenSSL (mod_ssl) successfully".
    I'm a bit confused, with how and where I could change my Shared IP address back to 174.132.227.96.
    Someone H-E-L-P....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    18,917
    That generally means that the DNS has not propergated to the new IP Address. I would contact your host to find out why they changed it without notice. The bad thing is this can take up to 72 hours to complete.

    If you run Windows - Try running this at the command line and try your site again to see if it helps "ipconfig /flushdns"
    Keith I Myers
    CEO and Founder - RemoteRAM.com
    The world leader in Cloud Based RAM
    KMyers.me The rantings of a lunatic

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    206
    They would probably have moved you to a new server. They should not have done this without notifying you. I would contact them and ask them if they have moved your server, and if so why you were not made aware.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    563
    If the shared IP changed then they must have moved you to a new server. That default cPanel message will come up when changing ip's and your site is still propagating.You could try flushing your DNS by entering ipconfig /flushdns in command prompt, this sometimes helps speed things up locally.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Santa Monica, CA
    Posts
    3,372
    Propagation for an ip address change in an existing zone should take less than a couple hours. There are other issues involved.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    15,413
    It does very much sound like you were moved to another server, even another provider.

    174.132.227.96 is a ThePlanet IP address where 70.47.137.218 comes back to nac.net. The IP in ThePlanet is based out of Texas where the NAC IP is based out of Washington it looks like.

    You will need to update your DNS to point to the new IP and I would think things will start working as they should. You need to contact your provider about this either way.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Eta Carinae
    Posts
    2,671
    the a-class difference gives it away that you were put on a new server. didn't even have to check where the IPs are registered.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    15,413
    Quote Originally Posted by njoker555 View Post
    the a-class difference gives it away that you were put on a new server. didn't even have to check where the IPs are registered.
    I have a couple different A-class IPs assigned to a server of mine, so I wouldn't necessarily say that it means it was a different server.

    However the traceroutes/whois definitely confirms it.
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting, LLC - Professional Hosting Solutions
    LiteSpeed Powered - Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    For high-end shared accounts ideal for business, check out our Premium offerings!
    http://www.mddhosting.com/ - Providing Quality Services since 2007

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Eta Carinae
    Posts
    2,671
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeDVB View Post
    I have a couple different A-class IPs assigned to a server of mine, so I wouldn't necessarily say that it means it was a different server.

    However the traceroutes/whois definitely confirms it.
    the same server? i thought it wasn't possible lol - i have a couple of servers and all DCs told me it can't be done...liars

  10. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •