Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    324

    Cool How I migrated from HyperVM to VDSmanager

    I was able to successfully migrate all my hypervm nodes to VDSmanager without any data loss. Here are the steps I took.

    NOTE: I was running an up to date version of CentOS 5.3 x86_64 on all my nodes. I cannot guarantee this will work for you. Be sure and make a backup before doing this. I also licensed all my servers for VDSmanager before starting

    Step 1. (Shut down HyperVM and remove it from the sytem)

    # service hypervm stop
    # rm -rf /usr/local/lxlabs/
    # rpm -e lxphp lxzend lxlighttpd

    *if your old vps configs had proper hostnames skip to step 3.

    Step 2. (Fix hostname in VPS configs)

    Note: HyperVM let you have VPS containers with incomplete hostnames such as "server" instead of "server.com". This will cause VDSmanager to give an error when you try to view the running VDS's. After fixing this my virtual servers started showing up on the main page list before that it just gave an error.

    # cd /etc/sysconfig/vz-scripts/
    # ls -l ( You should see all your VPS configs ending in .conf)

    Open each one in your favorite text editor and make sure the line HOSTNAME="hostname" is a complete hostname

    Example:
    HOSTNAME="hostname" > WILL NOT WORK
    HOSTNAME="hostname.local" > WILL WORK


    Step 3. (Install VDSmanager)

    # wget "http://download.ispsystem.com/install.sh"
    # sh install.sh

    NOTE: During the installation I chose to install the minimum. This worked for me but I cannot guarantee it will work for everyone. I have not tried installing it with the other options.

    When it is done it will ask you to reboot go ahead and do so now.

    Step 4. (Log into VDSmanager)

    In a web browser go to this site
    https://hostname-or-ip/manager/vdsmgr

    Hopefully you will be able to log in and view all your running VPS containers.

    After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen.

    Good Luck and hope this helps
    Joe Morgan
    Joe’s Datacenter, LLC. - http://www.joesdatacenter.com
    Dedicated Servers | VPS | Colocation

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    2,605
    Nice of you to offer this up to the forum users, kudos to Joe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Thanks for the tutorial and i'll be sure to add this to my favorites.

  4. #4
    thank you for sharing.
    HalfDedi.com • Half Dedicated Half Price
    We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,391
    Very clear and straightforward tutorial! Thanks for sharing
    █• CirtexHosting Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
    █• LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
    █• HostV VPS Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
    █• We transfer your sites over quickly! I eat penguins for breakfast ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    12,562
    Moved > VPS Tutorials.
    .
    JoneSolutions.Com is on the net providing services and support 24/7 since 2001.
    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    10
    Hello,

    Nice Job.

    Thanks for sharing with us

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK - Scotland
    Posts
    528
    can you exmplain this bit please?? I didnt think vdsmanager had a central "login" url for all users?

    "After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by wise View Post
    can you exmplain this bit please?? I didnt think vdsmanager had a central "login" url for all users?

    "After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen."
    I may be wrong and hopefully the OP can correct me. You will still need to add the clients in manually, as i'm sure it does import the mysql users from hypervm according to his instructions.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    324

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Matt - HostPenguin View Post
    I may be wrong and hopefully the OP can correct me. You will still need to add the clients in manually, as i'm sure it does import the mysql users from hypervm according to his instructions.
    I have not found a central login for each customer but they can login to the web interface for the node there on using there ip address as the username and the root password of the vds as the password.
    Joe Morgan
    Joe’s Datacenter, LLC. - http://www.joesdatacenter.com
    Dedicated Servers | VPS | Colocation

  11. #11
    How secure is VDSManager? Does anyone know? I thought the last update was in 2008?

    Thanks for the tutorial though.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    36
    Thanks for the great tutorial.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,539
    Quote Originally Posted by NOCAndy View Post
    How secure is VDSManager? Does anyone know? I thought the last update was in 2008?

    Thanks for the tutorial though.
    Seems that the last update was in April. BTW - I would recommend IPmanager if you decide to use this software, though even it seems limited in functionality.
    Virpus.com - You Won't Find a better deal on VPS's!
    The leaders in XEN SSD VPS Hosting
    Come see how we can revolutionize your hosting experience. VPS Resellers Welcomed

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK - Scotland
    Posts
    528
    thanks for the clarification - thought we had picked it up totally wrong for a minute! So far we havent been able to import any openvz on the server into the vdsmanager install. It simply doesnt see them, hostnames etc are all correct...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    324

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by wise View Post
    thanks for the clarification - thought we had picked it up totally wrong for a minute! So far we havent been able to import any openvz on the server into the vdsmanager install. It simply doesnt see them, hostnames etc are all correct...
    So did you figure it out or is it still giving you trouble? Are you getting any error messages? Were you doing this on a server that already had OpenVZ or new install?
    Joe Morgan
    Joe’s Datacenter, LLC. - http://www.joesdatacenter.com
    Dedicated Servers | VPS | Colocation

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •