hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting Talk Tutorials : VPS Tutorials : How I migrated from HyperVM to VDSmanager
Reply

Forum Jump

How I migrated from HyperVM to VDSmanager

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Tutorials Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:15 AM
JOEsDC JOEsDC is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 305
Cool

How I migrated from HyperVM to VDSmanager


I was able to successfully migrate all my hypervm nodes to VDSmanager without any data loss. Here are the steps I took.

NOTE: I was running an up to date version of CentOS 5.3 x86_64 on all my nodes. I cannot guarantee this will work for you. Be sure and make a backup before doing this. I also licensed all my servers for VDSmanager before starting

Step 1. (Shut down HyperVM and remove it from the sytem)

# service hypervm stop
# rm -rf /usr/local/lxlabs/
# rpm -e lxphp lxzend lxlighttpd

*if your old vps configs had proper hostnames skip to step 3.

Step 2. (Fix hostname in VPS configs)

Note: HyperVM let you have VPS containers with incomplete hostnames such as "server" instead of "server.com". This will cause VDSmanager to give an error when you try to view the running VDS's. After fixing this my virtual servers started showing up on the main page list before that it just gave an error.

# cd /etc/sysconfig/vz-scripts/
# ls -l ( You should see all your VPS configs ending in .conf)

Open each one in your favorite text editor and make sure the line HOSTNAME="hostname" is a complete hostname

Example:
HOSTNAME="hostname" > WILL NOT WORK
HOSTNAME="hostname.local" > WILL WORK


Step 3. (Install VDSmanager)

# wget "http://download.ispsystem.com/install.sh"
# sh install.sh

NOTE: During the installation I chose to install the minimum. This worked for me but I cannot guarantee it will work for everyone. I have not tried installing it with the other options.

When it is done it will ask you to reboot go ahead and do so now.

Step 4. (Log into VDSmanager)

In a web browser go to this site
https://hostname-or-ip/manager/vdsmgr

Hopefully you will be able to log in and view all your running VPS containers.

After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen.

Good Luck and hope this helps

__________________
Joe Morgan - Owner - Dedicated Server Sales
Joe's Datacenter,LLC
sales@joesdatacenter.com



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:22 AM
JSCL JSCL is offline
Marketing Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,605
Nice of you to offer this up to the forum users, kudos to Joe

__________________
SAGO Networks - We own our data centers in Atlanta, GA and Tampa, FL - SAGONET.com
Dedicated servers, colocation, office space and internet access - Contact jscales[at]sagonet.com

  #3  
Old 06-12-2009, 02:25 AM
@Matt @Matt is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,911
Thanks for the tutorial and i'll be sure to add this to my favorites.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:39 AM
markhard markhard is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 800
thank you for sharing.

__________________
HalfDedi.com Half Dedicated Half Price
We provide affordable VPS hosting solution Singapore datacenter

  #5  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:15 AM
Cirtex Cirtex is offline
WebHostingTalk Lover
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 7,392
Very clear and straightforward tutorial! Thanks for sharing

__________________
CirtexHosting Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
HostV VPS Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
We transfer your sites over quickly! I eat penguins for breakfast ...

  #6  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:51 AM
net net is offline
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,140
Moved > VPS Tutorials.

__________________
.
JoneSolutions.Com + SSS = Your Number One Choice On The Net - since 2001

It's Fully Managed and Secured. Ask us at sales @ jonesolutions.com .

  #7  
Old 06-12-2009, 04:59 AM
techrudra techrudra is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: India
Posts: 10
Hello,

Nice Job.

Thanks for sharing with us

  #8  
Old 06-12-2009, 05:28 AM
wise wise is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK - Scotland
Posts: 527
can you exmplain this bit please?? I didnt think vdsmanager had a central "login" url for all users?

"After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen."

__________________
Wise Hosting | A BlueGrape Hosting

  #9  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:05 AM
@Matt @Matt is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 3,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by wise View Post
can you exmplain this bit please?? I didnt think vdsmanager had a central "login" url for all users?

"After doing this on all my servers I added the old slave servers as a slave on my main VPS node and can now view all my clients from the main screen."
I may be wrong and hopefully the OP can correct me. You will still need to add the clients in manually, as i'm sure it does import the mysql users from hypervm according to his instructions.

  #10  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:07 AM
JOEsDC JOEsDC is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 305
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt - HostPenguin View Post
I may be wrong and hopefully the OP can correct me. You will still need to add the clients in manually, as i'm sure it does import the mysql users from hypervm according to his instructions.
I have not found a central login for each customer but they can login to the web interface for the node there on using there ip address as the username and the root password of the vds as the password.

__________________
Joe Morgan - Owner - Dedicated Server Sales
Joe's Datacenter,LLC
sales@joesdatacenter.com

  #11  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:10 AM
NetworkSamurai NetworkSamurai is offline
sed -i -e 's#iron#man#g'
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 607
How secure is VDSManager? Does anyone know? I thought the last update was in 2008?

Thanks for the tutorial though.

__________________
ExaCloud Systems Inc. - New Jersey Colocation & Cloud/VPS Servers

ExaNetwork Inc. - Cisco & Brocade Network Management Services

  #12  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:13 AM
webdis2 webdis2 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks for the great tutorial.

  #13  
Old 06-12-2009, 11:16 AM
VN-Ken VN-Ken is offline
virtualizing the world
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOCAndy View Post
How secure is VDSManager? Does anyone know? I thought the last update was in 2008?

Thanks for the tutorial though.
Seems that the last update was in April. BTW - I would recommend IPmanager if you decide to use this software, though even it seems limited in functionality.

__________________
Virpus.com - You Won't Find a better deal on VPS's!
The leaders in XEN SSD VPS Hosting
Come see how we can revolutionize your hosting experience. VPS Resellers Welcomed

  #14  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:01 PM
wise wise is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK - Scotland
Posts: 527
thanks for the clarification - thought we had picked it up totally wrong for a minute! So far we havent been able to import any openvz on the server into the vdsmanager install. It simply doesnt see them, hostnames etc are all correct...

__________________
Wise Hosting | A BlueGrape Hosting

  #15  
Old 06-12-2009, 03:10 PM
JOEsDC JOEsDC is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 305
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by wise View Post
thanks for the clarification - thought we had picked it up totally wrong for a minute! So far we havent been able to import any openvz on the server into the vdsmanager install. It simply doesnt see them, hostnames etc are all correct...
So did you figure it out or is it still giving you trouble? Are you getting any error messages? Were you doing this on a server that already had OpenVZ or new install?

__________________
Joe Morgan - Owner - Dedicated Server Sales
Joe's Datacenter,LLC
sales@joesdatacenter.com

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Magento to Shut Down Two Ecommerce Solutions Aimed at Smaller Merchants Web Hosting News 2014-07-03 14:46:29
LeaseWeb USA Acquires Web Host Shore.net Web Hosting News 2013-09-18 09:26:48
Evolve IP Acquires Unified Communications Firms iPiphany, Semperon Web Hosting News 2013-05-10 14:50:53
StormVZ Rebrands to Iniz to Differentiate VPS Hosting Services Web Hosting News 2013-04-15 11:00:30
NetHosting Improves Security, Performance with Updated Cloud Hosting Solutions Web Hosting News 2012-08-30 13:49:41


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?